Home > Japanese Culture > The temple has gotten through the air raids…with many donations of a lot of people.

The temple has gotten through the air raids…with many donations of a lot of people.

Before I went to Akihabara, I went to “Senso-ji” in Taito ward, Tokyo.

This is my first time to go to “Senso-ji” and “Kaminarimon Gate”, so once I got out of the subway station, I asked one high school student where they were. “Excuse me, could you tell me where Kaminarimon Gate?” asked I.

I didn’t know why he was surprised with me and chuckled. “Not far away. There.” said He, pointing out the direction.

I just understood why he laughed. I arrived at Kaminarimon Gate in a few SECONDS…hihihi…

This is “Kaminarimon Gate”.
null

Suprisingly, The current Kaminarimon Gate was re-built in 1960, donated by Konosuke Matsushita! Do you know him? He is the founder of Panasonic, and is known for the God of Management, not only in Japan but also all over the world.

You can see the two statues protecting the gate on either side of the gate? They are “Fujin”, (means wind God) and “Raijin”, (means thunder God). The words of “Fujin” and “Raijin” are often used like the symbol of the guardians in a lot of situations, such as the character of Japanese comics.

null

After the Kaminarimon Gate, You can walk through “Nakamise-dori” street, which is the place selling many kinds of goods. I was surprised with the shop selling wigs! “Why wig?!” I walked through the street, thinking like that…

Finally, I arrived at “Honzon Gate”, in the center of the premises. ummm…the Senso-ji temple is famaous for the sightseeing place so much that a lot of foreign travelers are there, not Japanese.

null

As a matter of fact, I’m writing this article, referring to the brouchure of Senso-ji. I’ve just realized that the person who donated money to re-build this “Hozomon Gate”(not Kaminarimon Gate”) was Yonetaro Otani. He was the founder of the Hotel New Otani!

After through “Hozomon Gate”, You can achieve the main hall of Senso-ji, which was erected with donations by hundreds of thousands of adherents. The original gate was buit in 628.

Looking through the brochure, I knew a lot of things happened to Senso-ji and most of the things were happened in World War 2 in 1945. At that time, people must have suffered terrible damages from air raid strike in Tokyo….

As an aside, I will recommend one ceremony you should do when you go there. In order to make your bad part of your body well , please try to get the smoke like the people in the photo. People, who think their heads are idiot, should get the smoke over their own head. People, who think their organs are not good, should get the smoke around their own body.

Me? Ofcourse, I got a large mount of smoke…all of my body…from head to toe…! hihihi

null

Categories: Japanese Culture Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

