Home > My ideas > Procrastination is the thief of time.

Procrastination is the thief of time.

I sometimes see such writings about learning English in bulleten board, “It’s too late to learn English when you get older.”.

I definitely don’t think so. Basecally, it sounds strange for me to difine when you should start something new, especially something academic. I ofcourse know the sooner, the better. Besides, actually, the older you get, the more difficult you remember a lot of things, however, you have a lot of experiences the young can’t have.

In Japan, the popularization on lifelong learning is still lower than other countries, like America. You probably can hear these words when you try to go to the college for learning after your work; “You should work harder if you have such a time.” or “Is it able to earn money?”. Sounds funny, right?

Not for money, but for my own satisfaction. Ofcourse there is some possibilities that your hobby can make money someday, however, the most important thing is your own fulfilled heart, not money. (I also know making money is critical. I mean, the job itself.)

“What does it have any meanings in it after you got over 40 or 50?” everytime I read this line, it always makes me laugh.

Even if I get over 60 old, I want to try to do something, something new and exciting.

Do you have anything makes you excited now?

Categories: My ideas
  1. August 14, 2009 at 11:02 am

    At what age should “living” stop? Some think that once you grow old, then that’s it. A foolish thought. Older people nowadays, and even before, are still experiencing and doing new things, including learning a foreign language.

    People will do things at their own pace, the reality should be, that they are “doing” and not letting life past them by.

  2. honeypotter
    August 15, 2009 at 9:14 am

    Hello, girlgeusm, thank your for your comment. I’m so glad that the person I’ve not ever met in person before left a comment. You’re the first one who did it.
    Yeah, you’re right, but unfortunately, there are such people in Japan who tend to make a fool of elder people trying to do something new. That’s definitely ridiculous.
    I don’t know where you are from, but no matter how old I am and you are, it’s precious for us to keep trying new, isn’t it?
    Thank you so much again, girlgeusm, I’m looking forward to your new comment 😀

  3. August 17, 2009 at 8:46 am

    Absolutely. No matter where older people are from, others will laugh and try to make fools out of them for trying new things based on their age.

    But we all must try new things or we might become stagnated.

    • honeypotter
      August 17, 2009 at 2:57 pm

      Hello, girlgeum, how are you?

      Yeah, I do hope I’d rather stagnate on my way for my dream than I do nothing for it, I mean, I might struggle for my dream and it’s not so bad for me to stagnate in front of some walls for the dream. I think that that “stagnate” sounds good, right?(ummm…Is it a correct expression in English?)

  4. August 18, 2009 at 9:43 am

    Stagnate means to be inactive, motionless. In other words, I also could have frame when I wrote above that we all must try new things or we might become inactive.

    The way you used it is incorrect. Your sentence would read I’d inactive . . . . And, it’s not so bad for me to inactive . . . .

    Try to substitute a word and see if it fits in the context that you want. Like, I hope I don’t become stagnate; in other words, I hope I don’t become inactive.

    You can say, “I’d rather wait on my way . . . . Also you can use wait in the next sentence. I hope this helps.

    Yes, we also should wait for our dreams. Sometimes rushing only makes things worse and longer.

  5. honeypotter
    August 18, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Hi, girlgeum, thank you so much for your comment.
    Oh…I was wrong in how to express, sorry about that. I should have expressed like this; “I’d rather endure stagnating untill I break through the wall for the dream than I do nothing for it”. What do you think of this?
    Wow, yeah, “wait”… How wasn’t this word born in my brain? It’s quite natural, I think.
    Probably you might feel something strange in my comments during our communication. Sorry about that if it happen, but I’ll try to be better…better than now every day.

  6. August 19, 2009 at 8:49 am

    At least you’re trying; some don’t. Don’t worry about it. I can understand what you wrote, and if there are mistakes, then you can learn from it. Trying and doing better.

    (I’d rather endure stagnating) is wrong. It’s like saying I’d rather endure inactivating . . .

    Here’s what you can do. Look up the word stagnate and see what other words can match that word. Words like inactive, dull, motionless. And then write sentences with those words, replace them with the word stagnate, and see if the sentence makes sense. Once again it’s how you use the word.

    All the best.

    • honeypotter
      August 20, 2009 at 9:04 am

      Hello, girlgeum, how are you?
      oh…you showed me the way to improve how to express in English. Thank you so much. Recently, I found it’s enjoyable to read English-English dictionaries. So as you suggested, I’ll try to check synonyms of the words in which I got interested with my dictionary.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

