Home > My diaries > Who are you going to give that diamond ring?

Who are you going to give that diamond ring?

July 22th, in this area, including Asia, we had a chance to see kaiki nisshoku, which means “total eclipse”.

In the Akuseki island, in which it had longest time to watch, over about 6 minutes, many tourists visited. There are less than 70 residents in the island, however, about 300 people came to watch the total eclipse. Unfortunately, they got strong and heavy rain, so they couldn’t do that.

Do you know how total eclipse can happen? The earth, in which we live, goes around the sun. The moon does as well. The orbits of them are ellipses, not circles, so depending on the positions of the earth, the moon, and the sun, you can see many kinds of shape of the moon because of their reflections of sun-light. In the event of eclipses, the earth, the moon, and the sun are lined up at the same time.

There are two prominent type of eclipse, kaiki nisshoku and kinkan nisshoku, which means “annular eclipse”. With the distance between the sun and the moon, you can difine them. If the moon is closer to the sun than the earth, it’ll be annular eclipses. If the moon is closer to the earth than the sun on the other hand, it’ll be total eclipses.

At just minutes after the completion of the eclipse, you can see it like a diamond ring because of the last sunlight in the last edge of the moon. After the total eclipse, it gets darker than usual, the temperature under the eclipse gets lower.

I couldn’t watch it clearly as well as the people in the Akuseki island because of the rain, however, Master Sampa, one of my friend, introduced a good film in his blog. I’ll show you them, either. Thank you so much, Master Sampa.

In BASARA, which was famous comics between girls, the king of red (Should I express “The red king” rather than this?) tried to show that diamond ring to Sarasa, who is not only his girlfriend but also his enemy. (It’ll be a long story if I tell the comic’s outline. It’s quite comlicated.) This time, someone tried to show it to his/her right one and tried to marry…

Speaking to the totall eclipse, I remember one song, “Total Eclipse of the Heart”, sung by WESTLIFE. The song is originally sung by Bonnie Tyler, isn’t it?

Let me show you it.

Categories: My diaries
  1. Mariko。
    July 27, 2009 at 3:37 am

    Hello again!

    I was @Miraikan in Odaiba to obserbe the solar eclipse that day. I could see the live broadcast of the total eclipse from IOJIMA and see “daiamond ring”. Unfortunately, I was there with my “girl” friend…

    • honeypotter
      July 27, 2009 at 5:13 am

      Hi, Mariko。! I’m so glad that you left your comment again!

      Wow, you got such a great time! Me, I think it’s even worse… I saw the eclipse among cloud in Nagoya with my male client who is over 50 years old during meeting. “Hey, HoneyPotter, let’s check the eclipse!” said he. a few minutes later… “ummm…we can hardly check it because of this cloud… Let’s get back and proceed the meeting!” My fabulous and precious time is gone in no time…hehehe I actually wanted to tell someone it like this; “Hey, this is the marriage ring for you. And here it is, (showing someone the real ring…) another one!” Please call me Junichi Ishida in the English learners…hahaha (ofcourse it’s totally a joke^ ^)

  1. August 6, 2009 at 2:30 pm

Leave a Reply

