Home > My hobbies > The dawn of FPS in Japan.

The dawn of FPS in Japan.

One day, one of my friend on the Internet told me that no one in Japan play FPS game, and even worse, no one play games with computers.

Now that it’s not the truth. The number of FPS players in Japan is increasing now. Actually, many Japanese might associate games with machinery made for only playing games, such as NINTENDO DS or PlayStation, which is called “consumer-model” in Japan. On the contrary, I guess people in the other countries might take a granted they play games with computers. (I know these thoughts have recently changed since NINTENDO and SONY started selling their models all over the world.)

Me, since I stopped playing games in my younger age, I’ve never tried to play games. Games turn me on…besides, I had no idea that I enjoy playing games with computers as well as other Japanese did. But now, I met this game about two years ago. For me, this is the very first FPS game, and even now, I join in one clan and enjoy playing.

Special Force is originated in Korea. Korea is very famous for the population and level of FPS players among far east countries. I heard that you can watch FPS program on TV whole day. There are many famous FPS games made in Korea and the tournaments are often held. The clans from Korea have won the match in a row, I think. In Japan, waves of professionalizing as game players are still not larger, however, in Korea and other countries, such as America, the professional game players get contracts with computer parts manufacturers and earn their money. (I ofcourse know I’m not supposed to be like that.)

I’m not such a good player, but it’s so fun for me to play games with my friends on the Internet. Our clan is not gachiclan, which means “clan in which seriously motivated and skillful people are gathering and aiming for the great result at the tournaments”, but we can enjoy it. By the way, you should remember the word above, “gachi“, literally means “serious”. gachi de yaru means “I’ll do it seriously”.

I recorded our clan fighting with other clan. Here it is. The person holding golden AK-47 is me.

Someday, I’ll try “Counter Strike”.

Categories: My hobbies Tags:
  1. NomortaL
    August 17, 2009 at 11:17 am

    I know what you mean, I’ve been playing FPS games over 10 years now and it is very fun… It’s true unfortunately that Japanese people done play FPS games that often as I would like them too. I live there now and its difficult to find people to play with. To make matters worse, I enjoy FPS games such as quake/doom/unreal tournament not “realistic” games such as battlefield and counterstrike etc. reastic games are becoming (have already become) more popular 

    • honeypotter
      August 17, 2009 at 3:18 pm

      Hello, Nomortal, it’s nice to meet you.
      Wow, you live in Japan now? And looking for someone playing FPS games? I hope I would do it with you someday.
      For 10 years, I guess you have played many kinds of FPS games as you wrote above. “quake” “doom” are similar to “LEFT 4 DEAD”? I also like such types. Now, I’m waiting for “LEFT 4 DEAD 2”, which is going to be sold in November. What other games would you recommend for me? I’m interested in “doom 4”. What do you think of it?

  1. November 8, 2009 at 6:45 pm

Leave a Reply

