Home > My diaries > How come did they name him “mysterious prince”, not “half-blood prince”?

How come did they name him “mysterious prince”, not “half-blood prince”?

My handle name in this blog is “honeypotter”. You all, like an intelligent reader, can already know it originated from “Harry Potter”, who is the magical hero but struggles with a lot of things because of his youth.

Generally, almost heros are…strong. Super man is strong, Spider man is strong, Mr.Incredible as well. However, Harry Potter is not so strong. At his first grade in the Hogwarts, he couldn’t even spell his eternal enemy, Lord Voldemort, but just touched Voldemort’s face (correctly, not Voldemort’s but Professor Quirrell). Anyway, he definitely doesn’t seem to be the hero I’ve ever seen before.

I guess he is not a hero in a heroic movie, but a central chracter in a role-playing game, such as the Dragon Quest. The central character of the Dragon Quest is ofcourse weak at first. As you keep playing the game, you can make your player stronger and find your colleagues. Harry Potter, Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley as well.

Last week, I went watching “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince” in the theater. Before I watched it, I’d finished reading this original book written in English twice. “How did they abbreviate this long story into the film?” Thinking like that, I started watching the film.

It might be a bit spoiler warning on this movie, so if you haven’t read or watched the book or the movie yet, I don’t think you should read this article.

First of all, Bill, who is the oldest brother of Ron, was not in the movie, so there’s no topic about the marriage between Bill and Fleur in the movie. Second, Tonks, who is one of female characters I like in the stories, already has a special relationship with Lupin! In the movie, at the scene the Death Eater attaked Ron’s home, Tonks said “my sweetheart” to Lupin. I was quite dissapointed. In the original story, after Bill was bitten by Greyback and taken to the hospital, Fleur passionately expressed her love for Bill, and Tonks did as well. No matter how you become, No matter where you go, I love you… No one knows if they can live tomorrow under the war, so they found it important to express their feelings.

However, I’m not such a picky watcher, so I had enjoyed watching the movie. There’s one question on the Japanese title of this movie. “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince” is the original title, but in Japan, “Harry Potter and the Misterious Prince” was named. We have many different titles between the original one and the japanized one. For example, do you know the song, “Making Love Out of Nothing At All” sung by Air Supply? It’s changed like this; “A pledge on the beach”. Every time I talk to someone who lives in the other country, I sometimes can’t let them know the titles of movies or songs because I only know the japanized one. Every time I have such chances, I always check its original titles and am surprised with the differences between them.

Categories: My diaries
  1. August 20, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Pledge on the beach? I would’ve never guess it to be changed to that. I do know the song by the way.

    Do they change the names because some words aren’t find in your vocabulary?

    • honeypotter
      August 20, 2009 at 12:11 pm

      Hi, girlgeum!
      I don’t know why the words in its titles are changed, but there are many cases in Japan. I just checked my DVD collections and found a few examples. “The lake house”, in which Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock play, turned into “Il Mare”, which means “sea” in Italian. “Jerry Maguire”, in which Tom Cruise and Renee Zellweger play, turned into “The Agent”.
      I guess… the film and music companies in Japan try to make original titles more understandable and attractable by changing these titles.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

