Home > My ideas > Love letters for someone.

Love letters for someone.

As you know, I am absolute Japanese, and I haven’t been to other English speaking countries before. (As a matter of fact, I didn’t even have my own passport…lol)

Now, in Japan, there are many English learners and they are strugling to improve their English skills. Ofcourse me, either. You can find their blogs in Japan. But I don’t know why… the number of blogs which are written in English is not so much.

I guess the biggest problem on not writing their blogs in English is other English learners in Japan. And the behind the problem, I presume the way they treat English as correct answers or incorrect answers is lying because they tend to seek their chances to improve their English from many English tests.

Ofcourse I know I need to learn a lot of correct grammars from textbooks and need to check if my expressions in English is adequate or not. In order to do that, I believe I should keep using English, however, once someone upload his/her incrrect English sentences in his/her blog, other one sometimes make a fool of him/her, like “Hey, look at his/her fuckin’ English! He/She must get only ○○○ points in TOEIC!”. TOEIC is one of famous English examinations in Japan, which is abbreviated “Test of English for International Communication”. You only can check your own reading and listening English skills in TOEIC, but sometimes someone devious teases not-so-fluent-blogger’s English writings and try to compare writer’s TOEIC scores with writing skills.

There are some friends who came from other countries but aren’t English native speakers around me. Their English grammar, spellings and qualities of expressions in English are ofcourse not comaparable with peoples who live in English speaking countries. However, mainly friends tell themselves “I can speak English.”. As a matter of fact, I haven’t had any chances to hear “I can speak English.” from English learners in Japan. That’s a very strange phenomenon. I guess it’s not only because of modesty as which many Japanese think their virtue, but also because they tend to measure English examinations as “How well can I use English?”.

Over a year ago, I started this blog for three reasons. First, I wanted to introduce someone special my private life. Second, I let people all over the world show “Japan” and wanted to communicate with them. Third, I wanted to interact well with other English learners in Japan in English. These’re what I’ve wanted to do.

Don’t be shy. Don’t be afraid to have mistakes. The important thing is to get your first step ahead.

Categories: My ideas
  1. August 24, 2009 at 8:35 am

    Some people always say that they’re learning English but are afraid to talk or write in English in fear of being ridicule. But that’s just it, you’re learning, and learning takes practice in becoming very proficient in the language that you are learning. So don’t give up.

    Some see correcting them as insulting, while others don’t.Which brings me to my point. I see some mistakes in your entry, will you mind if I tell you about them?

    • honeypotter
      August 24, 2009 at 3:55 pm

      Hello, girlgeum, how are you?
      >I see some mistakes in your entry, will you mind if I tell you about them?
      Oh, really? No problem ofcourse! I do appreciate your advice. But one thing I’d like to ask you… I’d rather know “natural or unnatural as nuances” in my writing than “correct or incorrect as grammars”, like “stagnate” topic we had before. 😀
      And one more thing, I’m so sensitive that I’d like to get your…tender-hearted instructions 😀 Sorry, it’s just a joke. I do want to be a better English speaker than now, so thank you for your suggestion.

  2. August 25, 2009 at 10:23 am

    Natural and unnatural nuances.

    Well you can write I am Japanese, (this is more natural), not absolute Japanese, (this is not).

    • honeypotter
      August 26, 2009 at 3:38 pm

      Hi, girlgeum! I’m sorry I was late to reply.
      Oh…Was it unnatural…? Hmm…I was supposed to express, like “I am Japanese from head to toe.” or “Anyone can tell I’m Japanese”. In that case, what adjectives do I have to choose?
      I’m so thrilled because I feel I’m gonna be better in writing… Thank you so much ;D

  3. August 27, 2009 at 10:25 am

    I can’t tell you what adjective to use, because I don’t know a lot about you. The point is how will you describe yourself, and what is it that you want others to know about you?

    Cool, playful, thoughtful, shy, fun, talkative, etc.

    Maybe

    • honeypotter
      August 31, 2009 at 4:45 am

      Hi, girlgeum, I’m so sorry I was late to reply.
      yeah, in order to descrive myself and topics which I’m going to write, I’ll study hard. I swear it.
      Please let me know when you notice something strange with my writing.

  4. August 31, 2009 at 8:40 am

    To describe yourself, remember to just be yourself.

    • honeypotter
      September 1, 2009 at 12:49 pm

      Yeah, that’s right.

  5. aahya
    September 16, 2009 at 8:15 am

    Hi, honeypotter! I’m so happy to post a comment here. (I’m a little bit excited, actually. LOL)

    When I just became a freshman at college and took a English class, I felt so happy because there was no one hesitate to speak English and no one reacts a kind of “judgmental (in not good way)” to other’s English. That was totally different from what I had experienced in English classes (even in “Oral Communication” classes) in my high school. And I realized like “This is what I’ve wanted. A place everyone feels comfortable using English.”

    I think…we, English-learning-blogger need a place like that. And since we’re English-learning-blogger, I think we should use our own blog as a place like that. Or, at least, no one should not behave like making fool on blogger who writes English.

    Anyway, I really enjoy say something in English these days. It’s just fun to speak/write English! So I say “I can speak English.”

    • honeypotter
      September 17, 2009 at 7:50 am

      Hi, aahya! How are you?
      I’m so glad that you left your comment here.
      Yeah, as you said, what we need to do is keep improving our own English, not comapring ours with others. And one more thing, even if we get high scores in English exams in Japan, I don’t think it gets important meanings as long as we start using English, expressing something in English. I mean, to get scores in exams is just shows “How much do I know?”, not “How much do I use?”.
      Ofcourse, acquiring knowledge is important, I definitely understand it, but as you said, I think every English learning blogger should have opportunities to use English, communicate with others in English, and have fun 😀
      Anyways, thank you for your comment, and ofcourse I’m looking forward to chances to keep communicating with you in English. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

