Home > Japanese Culture > Branding your memory into your book.

Branding your memory into your book.

As you can see my blog, I love visiting shrines and temples. I’m embarrased to say I don’t have much religious devotion, however, the magnificent silence on the premises of shrines and temples make my heart refresh.

One day, my grandmother and mother talked about shuintyou. Shuintyou is a kind of books but all of pages are blank. Everytime people visit shrines and temples, they submit thier own shuintyou and ask Buddhist monks of the temples or priests of the shrines to stamp and write their name of temples or shrines.

Shuintyou literally means, “a redly stamped book”, which has the Chinise character “shu” (means “red”), “in” (means “stamp”) and “tyou” (means “book”).

The letters you got in your shuintyou are written by bokujuu, which means “black liquid link”, and hude is used. Hude is an ink brush. I don’t know if children nowadays go learning an art of writing using a brush and ink in Japan, however, my parents had me learn it when I was a kid. But unfortunately, my writing skill didn’t get better.

My grandmother and mother suggested that I get my own shuintyou because they know I often visit temples and shrines. “You can remember a lot of your memories after you’re back looking at your shuintyou.” my mother said that.

So I got three shuintyou. Each of shuintyou is respectively for temples, for shrines, for gokoku shrines. (There is a quite difference between gokoku shrines and shrines, however, it must be a long story, so I’ll write about it someday, in other article.)

This is my own shuintyou. I checked shuintyou on the Internet. There are many kinds of cool-designed shuintyou in temples and shrines nationwide. They look so traditional but beautiful that I feel I want to get them.

null

I took a lot of photos and got many stories on shrines and temples I visited. I’ll write about them someday.

Categories: Japanese Culture
  1. August 27, 2009 at 10:29 am

    Shuintyou – red-stamp-book with black liquid ink.

    It helps you to remember and I guess to see weather you’ve grown as a person, and/or got what it is you wanted.

    • honeypotter
      August 31, 2009 at 4:47 am

      Hi, girlgeum.
      Yeah! As you say, even now, looking my own Shuintyou, I remember what the temples and the shrines are. I should have gotten shuintyou before.

  2. Mariko。
    August 30, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    Hi! I love visiting shrines, too!
    But I’ve never bought Shuintyou.(not buy but get? Do we need to pay for it?)
    Visiting shrine usually makes person calm, doesn’t it?
    The final destination of my westward trip was Ise Shrine as you may have heard from Master Sampa.

    • honeypotter
      August 31, 2009 at 5:00 am

      Hi, Mariko。! It’s been a long time here, hasn’t it? How was the zoo? lol
      >Hi! I love visiting shrines, too!
      You do? Really? Great!
      In any famous temples and shrines, you can buy it. It costs about 1,000 yen or so, and every time you get “shuin” when you visit temples/shrines, you have to pay about 300 yen. There are many kinds of, colorful and gorgeous shuintyou nationwide, so you can choose what you want. I think you should click the word “shuintyou” on the Internet. You can find them 😀
      I’ve gone to Ise shrine before. It’s an amazing place, especially the river. You can spend so tranquilizing time there that I think you’ll get addicted to it…hehehe
      I don’t know why, but there is something calm in temples and shrines. The silence of forest? I can’t describe it well in English.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

