Home > My hobbies > “I must call you…you’re KASU!” this line made me crazy.

“I must call you…you’re KASU!” this line made me crazy.

I lately got serious articles in a row in this blog, so I think I should change the topics.

Recently, I don’t know why, one of my subordinates, who is 28 years old, got hooked on GUNDAM.

Ever since that, he gets something trivial on GUNDAM from many sources, such as comics or animations, and he throws out many questions to me as if he checks how much I know GUNDAM. Fortunately, the questions he threw were almost for beginners, so I just managed to answer them and I can show him my high-positioned skill as a superior…lol

I already wrote about GUNDAM before. (this is the article) Actually, ofcourse because of the amount of watching, among our generation, “the first GUNDAM” is said it’s the best. As a matter of fact, I like “Z-GUNDAM” rather than the first, however, the complication or elaboration of human relationship in “the first” beats “Z-GUNDAM” or “ZZ-GUNDAM”, I think. (However, in the respect of the complication on correlationship of the characters, I think “Z-GUNDAM” is the most complicated one.)

One of enjoyable parts on “the first” is said that there are many memorable and impressive lines in it.

(I just translated famous lines in “the first” by myself, so there might be some mistakes and you have better expressions than mine.)
“Let me show the abilities of your mobile suits!”
“I’ve never been punched! Even by my Dad!”
“Sadly, we’re definitely…under the warfare”
“What a wimp!”
“I must call them like this; They’re idiot!”

“idiot” in the last phrase for kasu in Japanese, you can see it in many situations, especially on the Internet. It is often written by katakana, which is one way to express in Japanese. Japanese is composed by kanji(chinese character), hiragana and katakana. kasu is originated from the meaning “the last thing which is left after doing something” and is also originated from the meaning “useless”. We often use kasu for an insult word. On the Internet, kasu is also used like this; as an abbreviated expression, “ks”. “Hey, you don’t understand it at all! ks!” you can often see such an expression.

In “the first”, Guillen Zabi, the second positioned executive of the Principality of Zeon, adopted this expression kasu in his speech. After that, he killed his father and also his superior, Degwin Sod Zabi. I don’t know why, but I was absolutely impressed with the scene when I first watched it. “He must be in public position. I don’t think many politicians proclaim their thoughts by using such an impolite word.” I, an elementary school student at that time, thought like that.

As seen above, there are many interesting lines in “the first”, so even now, many people still love “the first”. However, in the respect of the theme songs in a series of GUNDAM, I do want to introduce better one than the first’s. (As I wrote before, in the respect of GUNDAM itself, I love “ν GUNDAM”)

Here it is, the opening song of “Z-GANDAM”. Now, how is Hiroko Moriguchi doing?

This is another song Hiroko Moriguchi sang in another GUNDAM story(GUNDAM F91).

I would like to show you my favorite GUNDAM, please check it.

Categories: My hobbies
  1. PenguinTaro
    September 24, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Hi! Wood-san.

    Today’s topic is the GUNDAM, isn’t it?
    I am a member of the generation of the GUNDAM, I can leave a message.

    I watched the GUNDAM series from the first to the 3th.
    I fairly like animations and comics but I don’t like the GUNDAM series.
    Because their world mood are always dark except for the ZZ.
    When I was a elementary school student, my father presented me and my brother some plastic models.
    I remember we made a lot of models so-called 〝GANPURA〟

    By the way, I like Mr.Leji Matumoto’s works.
    The most favorite is the captain Herrock. He was a really cool guy.
    This work is romantic,nostalgic and a dream maker.

    • honeypotter
      September 25, 2009 at 8:47 am

      Hi, PenguinTaro-san, how’s it goin’?
      >Because their world mood are always dark except for the ZZ.
      >By the way, I like Mr.Leji Matumoto’s works.
      Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat???? 😀 Hey, Penguin-san, please look back his works…All of his works…look darker than GUNDAM…lol “Otoko-oidon”, which is one of his comics, can make you blue but think about something important for human. But don’t worry, I like his comics or animations, too, especially Galaxy Express 999. Maetel was the very first person who took my heart in my yonger age…incidentally, Lum was the second one…lol
      Oh, you was into Herrock? Yeah, he’s a cool guy. O.K. I’ll be like him when I meet you in the next off-meeting, then. Keeping silence like him is definitely laborious for me 😀 I think I could at least paint the scar like him on my face 😀

  2. September 28, 2009 at 7:45 am

    Anime is so life like. I guess that’s the point.

    Have you heard Metamorphoze by Gackt before?

    • honeypotter
      September 28, 2009 at 4:06 pm

      Wow, you know “Metamorphoze”? This is it?

      You really know a lot of things about Japan…maybe you do more than I do 😀 Yeah, it’s the theme song of cinemized Z-GUNDAM. Gackt is a big fan of GUNDAM and Yoshiyuki Tomino, the top director of the series of GUNDAM, asked him to make a song.

  3. September 29, 2009 at 7:38 am

    I doubt I know more things about Japan than you. lol But thanks for the compliment.

    I love some of his songs; my favorite is Last Song. He sings with emotions that drag you into the words.

    • honeypotter
      October 1, 2009 at 11:52 am

      No, girlgeum, you know too much about Japan, especially Japanese songs. To tell you the truth, I haven’t listened to Japanese songs so much since I decided to learn English again. Around me, only English songs are ringing :D. And one more thing, “Last Song” by Gackt, it’s the very first time for me to listen right now…lol

      I have some chances to chat with people who live in other countries and they always put the topics up on Japanese songs while chatting, but always…they know too much…rather than me 😀

      Sometimes they said to me like this; “Are you really Japanese?”…lol

  4. October 2, 2009 at 7:56 am

    Did you like it?

    Well here, I don’t listen to much local music.

    • honeypotter
      October 2, 2009 at 5:08 pm

      Yeah, “Last Song” is a good song. I like it 😀

      >I don’t listen to much local music.

      Oh, then, what kind of music do you often listen to? Mainly…Japanese songs? I know, in your other comment, you love “Backstreetboys(even though they’re no longer boys…)”. 😀

      When it comes to Japanese songs…I like “kobukuro”, “TUBE”, “B’z” or “BoΦwy”.

  5. October 5, 2009 at 8:11 am

    I love all kinds of music, as long as it has substance. My likes range form Linkin Park, Creed, to Michael W. Smith, dc talk, Rebbecca St James, to Bob Marley, to a whole lot moreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

    • honeypotter
      October 5, 2009 at 9:53 am

      Hi, girlgeum, how are you?

      Oh, Linkin Park, I like them, too!

  6. October 6, 2009 at 8:02 am

    How are you?

    I was listening to Kobukuro’s Yell. I’m liking it. I’ll listen to some more of their songs. Have to find English translations.

    • honeypotter
      October 6, 2009 at 10:18 am

      In the lyrics of kobukuro, there’s no English word, I guess. Many singers and composers in Japan these days tend to use English words, such as “I love you”, but kobukuro seems to value the sound of Japanese, I guess. Translated lyrics of kobukuro…I am, however, interested in them 😀

  7. October 7, 2009 at 7:10 am

    Well I couldn’t find any English translation to Yell, but I did for their song Stay. I don’t really like that one, even though the lyrics are good. jpopasia.com was where I looked. I still have some more of their songs to go through.

    Hope you have an enjoyable day.:)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

