Home > My diaries > The abstract goal is still far away.

The abstract goal is still far away.

I had a chance to meet my friends a few days ago. Recently, I often go drinking at a bar where many people come from other countries. This time, we chose the bar as the place we talk. It’s been about a year since we gathered before. Things have changed. One of friends has already gotten married for over a year, the other got his baby. Saying that each position as each life, I’m the one who hasn’t changed at all.

As you know, although I am an English speaker, I’m still on my way to my abstract goal that I imagine as well as other English learners are. Ahead of me, I can see a lot of things to do in order to achieve the goal. I couldn’t help laughing Musashi Miyamoto in one comic named Vagaabondo when I dropped by an Internet cafe for my dinner. There is one scene in Bakabondo like this; Musashi was desperate for tenka musou, which means “no one can compare something(in the respect of Musashi, the strength as a sword fighter) with him”. During his training and struggling, he climbed a mountain in desperation like his desire for strength was reflected. After he had stood right at the top of the mountain, higher mountains than where he stood lay ahead of him. “Oh, God gave me the right scene and idea at the right time…lol” thinking like that, I gazed at the scene for a while.

Back to the topic about talking with my friend. In front of them, I had an opportunity to talk with people who speak English. “Hey, your communication skills in English are definitely improved!” one of my friends told me like that.

Ofcourse I’m glad to hear that every time people say it to me, however, I’m a little bit disappointed with myself. One feeling rose up in my heart, I mean, it’s like the scene I wrote above. It’s the one Musashi Miyamoto got. At the very time he got his hand on the top of the mountain at the last time, last minute, he must have gotten great excitement. After the feeling, higher mountains lays ahead of him. That’s what I feel everytime. As long as someone point my improvement on learning English itself, I can see higher mountains even if I feel I achieved one top of a mountain I imagined.

Ofcourse I do understand…that I’m not satisfied even if I break through the wall right ahead of me and no one can no longer point my improvement itself on English out. The mountains wait for me like Musashi saw.

Categories: My diaries
  1. September 28, 2009 at 7:09 am

    Some greek philosopher once said, ‘A wise man knows, he knows nothing.’ Knowledge itself is humbling. The more you know, the more you realise you have yet to learn. While none of us could ever know everything, there is honor in the seeking of the goal, no matter how unattainable that goal may be. But before you become more dour, remember sand castles. You don’t build a sand castle because it will last forever. When they are gone to the tide you think, ‘I’ll make the next one even better.’ Each new step you take with english is like that. Is not Perfection sought for the sake of seeking it? The most honorable goals are those you can never achieve. Not that I don’t understand your lamentations, I’m the same way really. Even amongst native english speakers my english is vastly superior than all but a few. My fluency with japanese (or math, for that matter), on the other hand, is greatly lacking. Just keep your chin up and remember: It is the path not the goal which brings the most fulfillment.

    • honeypotter
      September 28, 2009 at 3:49 pm

      ‘A wise man knows, he knows nothing.’ yeah, absolutely. And your comment tells me that I can get something important while climbing, not at the top of the mountain.

      Languages, ofcourse including English or Japanese, are like a maze, and there’s no definitely right answer. People might get something on their way, I think. And on their way, people meet someone who can polish up each other.

  2. September 28, 2009 at 7:37 am

    You’re too hard on yourself. Acknowledge your accomplishments while not taking your eyes of even higher goals. Success comes in many small steps.

    Compliments, if genuine, are bliss.

    • honeypotter
      September 28, 2009 at 3:58 pm

      Hi, girlgeum, how are you?

      Thank you so, so much for your comment. As a matter of fact, I recently had tough days, especially about learning English. But it’s o.k. now, I think I got something happy from your comment. Yeah, step by step, that’s what I have to keep on mind.

  3. September 29, 2009 at 7:36 am

    Days are like that, sometimes they’re bad, and other times, they’re good, even great. Keep at it.

    I’m okay. Hope you’re well, and not catching cold.

    • honeypotter
      October 1, 2009 at 11:44 am

      Hi, girlgeum, I’m so sorry I was late to reply because I recently had tough days.

      Thanks for your concern.

  4. October 2, 2009 at 7:55 am

    I hope you’re okay. Some days can be tough, but hang in there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

