Home > My diaries > “Just Once” could link many relationships between my friends and me.

“Just Once” could link many relationships between my friends and me.

Karaoke, I think it’s invented in Japan, now that many people all over the world enjoy singing by using karaoke Ofcourse me, too.

Since I decided to learn English again when I was thirty, I’ve thought I should throw myself into as many situations in English as possible, so I put only English songs around me, especially in my car. As you can see from my YouTube channel, I once played the guitar, made my own songs, stood right in front of audience. In my age at that time, Ritche Blackmore, Steve Vai, Paul Gilbert, or other guitarists were the hero for me. So it was not so painful for me only to listen to English music, but I had to change my preference on music category from only heavy metal or hard rock (By the way, the word “hard rock” is only used in Japan?) to more popular ones.

The very first song I learned and sang was “As Long As You Love Me” from Backstreetboys. Now that Backstreetboys are no longer boys, however, my sister loved them at that time and introduced me their songs.

Ever since I knew Backstreetboys, their songs have accounted for the most part of my repertoire of karaoke songs, such as “It’s true”, “The Call”, “Spanish Eyes”.

After I got Backstreetboys, my sister also introduced one group. That was ‘NSYNC. Their album were not so my thing, however, I like “Bye Bye Bye”, “It’s Gonna Be Me” and this;

This I Promise You

The more I got songs I could sing, the more I was desperate to get somewhere to sing. “Snack”, is not the meaning in English “small meals”, is used for the place to drink alcohol in Japan. Oops, I checked the word with my dictionary right now. I should use this word like this; “snack bar” in order to express my intention. Girls working in snack bar in Japan should know many kinds of Japanese songs, especially Enka, which is one category as old and folk songs in Japan and has quite different scales from western songs, but don’t need to learn English songs so much because customers who want to sing English songs are not so many at the snack bar. So every time I visit the snack bar and girls ask me to sing songs, I’m bothered what songs I should sing. “The Carpenters” and “The Beatles” were only what they knew.

“Ummm…I want somewhere to enjoy singing…Where should I go?” thinking like that, I talked about this topic with my friend. He gave me one solution and it changed my personal life definitely. I’ll write the topic someday. As the ending song of this article, I’ll introduce one song right here. With this song, I got many friends who use English.

Just Once

Categories: My diaries Tags:
  1. October 2, 2009 at 7:53 am

    I must say that you have great taste in music. Love the Backstreet Boys, now men. 😆 I Want It That Way, is one of their songs that I love. Not to fond of NSYNC, but This I Promise You I like. The raw emotion in that song was powerful. I love music!!!!!!!!!!

    So listening to English songs helped you in learning this language? How much?

    • honeypotter
      October 2, 2009 at 5:02 pm

      Hi, girlgeum, how are you? 😀

      Oh, I’m so glad that you said that I have great taste. I do love music.

      How much did my listening to English songs influence on learning English? Oh, please look at my blog! What I’m writing in this blog…that’s what I got from songs….hehe…sorry, it’s just a joke. But actually, I got many good phrases from English songs, especially love songs. Unfortunately, I couldn’t get LOVE with these phrases when I used them at the first time, a long long time ago…hihihi A tiny…but little bit lonely story…hehehe

  2. aahya
    October 5, 2009 at 3:04 am

    >As you can see from my YouTube channel,

    Oh, the guy playing the guitar is you? That’s cool! I’ve always wanted to sing in a band but don’t know what to do…anyway, you’re so cool 😉

    And I LOVE Backstreet boys! I have some of their CDs (I’m writing this listening to “As Long As You Love Me.”) and went to the concert in 2005 held in Tokyo Dome. Their performance was amazing.

    Okay, you can sing “The Call,” so let me know when you go karaoke, then I’ll sing (or maybe just say the line) the part of the girl who’s calling to the guy. lol

    • honeypotter
      October 5, 2009 at 5:51 am

      Hi, aahya!, how are you? How’s your eyes?

      You got my films in YouTube? Oh, thanks 😀 Yeah, That was me when I was 20. I was, er…a kind of dreamers at that time, actually. As a matter of fact, I got an offer to teach how to play the guitar at the last minute, last time I stepped down from the band. However, I had already decided to walk my present way right before the offer came. Now, I also want to join in a band and play the guitar again.

      Wow, you are a Backstreetboys lover, too? The concert in Tokyo Dome in 2005?! Oh…That’s the one I couldn’t get its ticket… 😀 O.K. You record your voice asking me where I am and what I am doing like “The Call”, and I’ll put my voice over them with my excuses as well as “The Call”. I hope we could hit a karaoke bar and sing together 😀

  3. October 5, 2009 at 10:02 am

    I love karaoke! I got a side question for you. In the us you can bring your own CDs and sing with them. Can you do that in anywhere in japan? Like perhaps, at a karaoke box? And hard rock came form the US. The US underground music scene has moved on though. We got Grindcore, Post Emo Hardcore, Pig Growl, and a whole HUGE underground Death Metal scene. My tastes in Japan range from Hamasaki Ayumi to whoever sings that ‘Ninjin Fucker’ song at the opening credits of the Deathnote series. The music I sing at karaoke is like the ‘Ninjin’ one. That type of music is called Post Hardcore. I’m not a fan of the Backstreet Boys though their like america’s version of Orange Range. But Orange Range has alot more talent. They at least write some/most of their songs. Try Pearl Jam’s song Even Flow. Japan’s hard rock is closer to US’ alt rock, I think.

    • honeypotter
      October 5, 2009 at 10:40 am

      >In the us you can bring your own CDs and sing with them.

      Really?? Then, You have to sing songs with real singer’s voices? In Japan, at karaoke bars, Songs are transferred at the bar from karaoke companies on the Internet. So the owners of karaoke bars have nothing to install songs as long as their networks run well.

      The number of people love Death Metal or HardCore is increasing in Japan, however, pop music is still controlling Japan music scene. Ayumi Hamasaki is still the top of singers in Japan by inches, I guess. Orange Range…unfortunately, I don’t like them because they easily mimic other musicians. I mean, they are over emulation. Well…I can’t tell the difference between Orange Range and B’z when it comes to emulation…lol

  4. penguintaro
    October 7, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    ‘Just once’ is good song! I like it and will practice it. Let’s sing it together when we go to karaoke next time.

    You know I practice some English songs. English songs have beautiful sentences so I think it is good tools for learning English. I often take notes when I meet good expressions in songs.

    • honeypotter
      October 8, 2009 at 6:01 am

      Hi, penguintaro! How are you?

      Yeah, “Just Once” is a famous song and loved from many people. I have sung it at a disco before. 😀

      For Japanese, actually it appears labrious to LEARN English. I’m also the one who struggle to acquire English, you know. However, English songs and singing them can make me feel English is close to me, like every little thing such as breathing, eating something.

      Oh, karaoke bar or box?! Yeah, let’s hit there! Whenever You want to sing or think you prepare to sing, I can drop by there. Anytime, anywhere 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

