Home > My diaries > The lady I used to love is still smiling in my dream.

The lady I used to love is still smiling in my dream.

I guess any man has had such a dream like this before; One lady you used to love appeared and kissed you. No? You haven’t gotten any dream like that? Me, about twice or three times a year, I often fall in such a dream. But unfortunately, the lady is not a human, but a car. RX-7, that’s the car of which we should be proud as the gorgeous and curvaceous one.

RX-7 is often called ‘FD’ or ‘FC’ among people who is addicted to cars, which originated from their serial numbers. The second RX-7 have “FC3S” as their numbers, and the third RX-7 have “FD3S” as well. I often visited the place where my friend lived when I was an university student. His older brother owned his gunmetal-colored FC and tuned it up.

I guess I can marginally call myself “the super car generations”. There was one trend in Japan when I was a kid. People turned on many kinds of sporty cars, such as Ferrari, Lamborghini and others. Festivals on sporty cars held in a lot of places and kids visited there taking photos. At that time, I guess it’s due to their aerodynamic control, cars with retractable lights were popular. One of my uncle had a “CELICA XX”, which featured retractable lights, and I asked him to open and close its light even during a daytime. (Incidentally, CELICA XX have another name in U.S.A because XX is associated with slang words or something. I have read this topic before…but I might be wrong.) Me, as one of the super car generations, ‘FC’ and ‘FD’ were also one of my dream cars.

After I got a job in a company, I had an opportunity to have my car inspected. In Japan, we have to have our own car inspected every two years (In the case of a new car, you have three years until you have the first inspection). If your car’s inspection has been expired, you will be penalized by police. I went to one car dealer in order to ask an inspection. “Hey, honeypotter, I think you want to drive this car.”, pointing out one red car, one salesperson told me. That was a RX-7.

As you know, RX-7 have a characteristic engine in their body, which called a rotary engine (You might prefer to call it Wankel engines). Now that rotary engines no longer have their advantages, comparing with reciprocating engines, but it is said that rotary engines are so small but powerful that people can make car’s balance equal by mounting rotary engines.

Even if you can’t see the techinical differences between rotary engines and reciprocating engines, you definetely can feel the difference on sounds when you get in RX-7. I can hardly explain this difference on sounds in writing, but you can feel it anyway. “Hey, honeypotter, how’s it? You like it?” the salesperson said it to me, chuckling heartily. At the following day, I got a contract to buy it.

My ex-girlfriend was surprised that I ordered RX-7 without telling her, without consulting (or asking? hihi) with her. “What makes you think? How come you bought such a car? You can’t load something big in that car! I imagined you bought a station wagon and went shopping… You and I select foods and commodities, walking in the store… And then, you bring things we bought instead of me… You open the back door of the car and put things into the car… I imagined such an ordinary but happy time…but…Look at the car! The seat is so low that I think I’m gonna have trouble getting in it! My dream has gone!” mourned she irritably. On the contrary, I had a happy time with RX-7.

I often pulled over my RX-7 and dreamily gazed it from its back, smoking cigarretes. Its curvaceous figure turned me on.

When I started running of my own business, I thought I couldn’t visit my clients with this red colored car, so I gave up keeping it. Ever since I sold it out, the dream I bought it again and got a happy time sometimes happenes in me. It’s been about seven years since the production of RX-7 were stopped, so it becomes more difficult to get a good conditioned used-RX-7. It is, however, still occupying my heart.

This is the same one I had.
null

Categories: My diaries
  1. October 16, 2009 at 7:06 am

    On the contrary, I had a happy time with RX-7 😆

    The car or the girl, and the car won out. True statement, men and their cars, no one can come between.

    Since the production has stopped, it’s a classic.

    Enjoy your weekend.

    • honeypotter
      October 19, 2009 at 2:55 pm

      Hi, girlgeum, How are you?

      I’m so sorry I was late to reply. I’d recently had tough days.

      >On the contrary, I had a happy time with RX-7

      Oh, you did? I bet you felt excited when you were in the seat of RX-7. The seat of RX-7 is like the one of air fighters, right?

      Yeah, it’s already become a classic car. Ironically, in Japan, sports cars like RX-7 keep their costs higher when they’re stopped producing and become used-cars. Even now, it costs about 2 million yen in the case of a good conditioned RX-7.

  2. October 17, 2009 at 3:50 am

    OH MY GOD!!! A ’95 RX-7 AFFINITY RZ IS MY DREAM CAR!!! You got awesome taste! Demo. . . I’ve never had a dream about a car. . . You might want to see a therapist. Jodan jodan. 🙂 Congratulations on the car though! Go do some drifting for me. Is it an automatic or a stick? Or did I miss that somewhere in the post?

    • honeypotter
      October 19, 2009 at 3:09 pm

      Hi, Mugami, How are you?

      I’m so sorry I was late to reply.

      Oh, A ’95 RZ…we called it “type 3”. Incidentally, the one I had was “type 5”.

      >might want to see a therapist. Jodan jodan.

      Maybe you are right 😀 Even now, I really have a dream in which I bought RX-7 back 😀

      In Japan, over 90% drivers prefer to an automatic, but ME, I’m completely a stick-shift lover. Five cars I have ever bought since I got my driver’s license. Four cars have a stick shift. All my friends laugh me like this; “Now we live in 21st century and automatic systems have progressed! What brings you choose a stick shift?” 😀

  3. October 20, 2009 at 8:02 am

    No, no, I was quoting you. I’ve never ridden in a RX-7.

    They’re expensive because the production has stopped.

    How are you today?

    • honeypotter
      October 20, 2009 at 1:48 pm

      Oops, I’m so sorry. I got what you tried to say 🙂

      >They’re expensive because the production has stopped.

      Yeah, I guess customers who want to get used-sporty cars want to refurbish them.

      It’s getting colder and colder in Japan. I think I should let my suit change, from summer-typed ones to winter-typed ones.

  4. October 21, 2009 at 7:14 am

    Stay warm.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

