Home > My diaries > Please vacuum my fear and generate my happiness

Please vacuum my fear and generate my happiness

I know it is said that the prices of cigarettes in other countries are more expensive than Japan’s because many taxes are imposed on foregin countries’ comparing with Japan’s. In Japan, ofcouse we got taxes on cigarettes as well, though, it takes approximate 300 yen for a pack of cigarettes (20 cigarettes are included in a box), which is about 3.26 US dollars (the rate as of Oct 25 2009).

The number of the places forbidden to smoke in Japan is gradually increased and I have no problem for no smoking in such places, however, I…must call myself a smoker. Even if the conferences proceed over 6 hours or I am under circumstances meeting with no-smoking people, I can go through them, however, I am still…sadly…a smoker.

I, however, don’t like smell of cigarettes, and unfortunately, I have ever gotten asthma long long time ago, in my kid’s age. House dust and hair of dogs and cats are especially dreadful allergens, so after my pretty tiny dog (you can see his picture at the previous article) throw himself into under my sweater in winter, I sometimes have a nightmare at that night…lol

This time, I decided to buy an air cleaner as I watched one TV program in which many comedians called kaden geinin(which means comedians loving appliances) admire their favorite appliances.

I, in fact, wanted to purchase an air cleaner made by Panasonic, but all air cleaners in the shop manufactured by Panasonic were sold out. The pieces of paper respectively put on samples said “You can get this product in four weeks”. Oh my God…there’s no choice…SHARP, for my second choice, I decided to get it.

Once I got back home, I opened its package and set it up in my room. According to instructions, as long as the green light keeps on the top of the body, the air of your room is cleaned. I tested it by smoking. Oh…the light turned into red and start vacuuming, rotating in it and generating fresh air. A few minutes later, it turned into green again and got silent (but the machine itself runs around the clock). I was so amazed and carried away that I started slapping my huton and let house dust roll. Thanks to this air cleaner, I got a chance to clean up my room.

In order to turn its colors again and again, I smoked much more cigarettes than usual….Ummmm…too disgusting.

Categories: My diaries
  1. October 26, 2009 at 7:38 am

    Ah smoking, don’t agree with it.

    Shh, don’t tell others about it, they’ll go out and buy it and smoke far too many cigarettes than they have before. 🙂

    But then again . . .

    It sure does help with cleaning.

    • honeypotter
      October 26, 2009 at 5:17 pm

      Hey, girlgeum…you extremely made me laugh 😆

      Yeah, I should not have written this article. Many people will rush into the shop and buy it…hehehe

      I…in fact want to stop smoking…ummm…

  2. October 26, 2009 at 10:25 am

    We call them a ‘pack of cigarettes’ in the states. And just a cigarette is fine, no ‘sticks’. Here my cigarettes, before the government banned them, were Djarum Blacks. At $6.90 a pack they were the most expensive regional with others trailing behind at around $5.70. What type did you buy exactly? In the US, Hepafilters have been largely replaced by ionizing blades (thin sheets of metal you run electricity through to make dust stick to them). Ionizing blades are very green since all you do is wash them off, as opposed to hepafilters which go in the trash and can be expensive to replace. Just wondering what’s big in Japan these days. 🙂

    • honeypotter
      October 26, 2009 at 5:40 pm

      Oh, “pack of cigarettes”, yeah, that’s it. Thank you so much, Mugami, I didn’t remember it…”What should I express it?” talking to myself, I wrote this article. I’ll correct it.

      I googled ‘Djarum Blacks’ on the Internet. Looks bitter, but containing cinnamon? So…taste clearly? Ummm…I don’t know how to express tastes in English.

      MILD SEVEN EXTRA LIGHTS is a cigarette I often smoke. When I was young, and Ayrton Senna drove the McLaren-Honda, I smoked Marlbolo. Hepafilters and ionizing blades… How could I say… the filter things are used in cigaretets as well, but I don’t know if I should call it ‘hepafilter’ or ‘ionizing blades”. But there are also extra filters for your health which put on cigarettes after buying.

  3. October 27, 2009 at 7:05 am

    You’ll be healthier if you do. Hope I’m not overstepping when I say that I wish you do.

    • honeypotter
      October 27, 2009 at 1:18 pm

      Hi, girlgeum.

      Yeah, step by step… Someday, I’ll introduce myself to everyone as I’m no smoker… 🙂

  4. October 27, 2009 at 7:15 am

    Hmmm… …You asked me A LOT of questions!!! Damn, man! You know this is gonna take multiple posts, right? 😉 Oh, that reminds me. I answered your question on the reprint vs copyright issue you posted last month. (I didn’t notice it. Sorry.) I also have a question for you about my blog, but I’ll get to that.

    • honeypotter
      October 27, 2009 at 1:39 pm

      Oh, sorry about that. But I always appreciate your information, especially things in your country. As a matter of fact, I’ve never been to other countries. I didn’t even have my own passport. So I can learn English all by myself, however, I can hardly feel your culture, atmospheres etc. Maybe I throw many questions to you, but please don’t mind…

  5. October 28, 2009 at 8:43 am

    Potter, I was just kidding. It is a lot but I am always happy to answer your questions.

  6. October 29, 2009 at 8:40 am

    I’m outside smoking, at four in the morning, and as I look at the oak trees shedding their leaves in the aftermath of the light rain, their golds and reds whispering that the reaptide draws ever closer, I realize it is a sorrowing burden on the soul. For the Fall brings Winter, with heavy hands, on its coattails. How I long to watch sakurai petals dance lightly across the ground like feathers from the wings of angels. Our leaves mark the onset of bitter cold, and sakurai the promise of warmer days. How different our worlds are Potter. I’m sorry this is a little off your topic, but in a way it isn’t. I never would have thought about it if I hadn’t stepped outside to take those few last hits of my last cigarette of the night. When you stop to smoke, you can open your eyes to the world around you, in a way that people who don’t can never do.

    • honeypotter
      November 3, 2009 at 3:45 pm

      Hi, Mugami, how do you do?

      I’m so sorry I was late to reply for you.

      Oh, this comment sounds like a poem. I like it and it’s so brilliant that I lost my words.

  7. October 29, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    Okay, now to answer your questions.
    Some filters look like maifun (is that japanese or chinese, they’re noodles made of bean strands), soba, or sort of like yarn all flattened down to make a sort of mesh. Those one are actually made of fiberglass (ファイバーグラス) and they are blue, white, or sometimes multicolored.
    A hepafilter looks like a coffee filter.
    And Ionizing blades look sort of like an egg slicer. They are thin flat pieces of metal that collect dust. These ones, you just pull out the blades and wash them in the sink. Then dry them and stick them back in.
    Is that a little clearer?

    • honeypotter
      November 3, 2009 at 3:51 pm

      Oh, then, ionizing blades can be removed from cigarettes and be mounted another cigarettes?

      Japanese cigarettes use one filter called ‘charcoal filter’, which looks like sponges.

  8. October 29, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    今、そらは味だ。どこに始める… (Did I say that right?)
    Salty, bitter, bittersweet, acrid, pungent, good, delicious, harsh, metallic, coppery, tangy, strong, spicy, powerful, hot, overpowering, sharp, sharp-tasting, piquant, stimulating, bland, tasty, appetizing, scrumptious, yummy, luscious, delectable, mouthwatering, delightful, lovely, wonderful, pleasant, enjoyable, appealing, enchanting, charming, delectable, sour, acid, acidic, tart, astringent, vinegary, pungent, harsh, Plus you can “make up” any number of other descriptions of taste by using “diminutizing” them.
    For intance, if something has a cinnamon flavor it could be described as “cinnamony” which is not a real word but is able to be understood easily.
    Quick Note: It would be better for you to pronounce it “sanamen” (さなめん ) than “shinnamon” (しんなもん) it is closer and the “nn” is longer than just “n” (like in “never”) but shorter than “nn” (like in “cannot”). It is not your nasal japanese “n” (ん) but think “na” (な).

    • honeypotter
      November 3, 2009 at 4:10 pm

      Oh, thank you so much! You gave me plenty of expressions on tastes. While studying English, I’ll aggressively try to use these words. spicy, piquant, tangy…depictions on ‘spicy’ have many choices.

      I’m afraid I don’t get it; “今、そらは味だ。どこに始める…”. What are you trying to express in Japanese?

      Oh, there are similar ways to use ‘cinnamony’ in Japan. For example, the young Japanese these days tend to add ‘teki'(which means ‘tic’ or ‘-like’ as one of suffix) to nouns. “yakusho” means “city hall”, “municipal office”, and so on. We often use “yakusho-teki”, which likes an adjective. “Kare wa yakusho-teki ni kanngaeru” roughly means “He thinks as if he works in the city hall”.

  9. October 29, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    In english, we are fond of comparisons. You would do well to remember that. Let’s say I’m a writer for a food magazine. My task is to write about a restaurant’s best Black Forest Cake.
    “The sensuous aromatic cake’s cherry scent cannot compare to its taste. It is has a velvety texture, smooth and rich, and a flavor more of cherries than chocolate. The taste was utterly, sinfully, delectable.”

    Sensuous (This one is really hard to translate. It makes you feel good, like a massage.)
    Aromatic (A smell that spreads all over the room and/or is powerful, like cookies baking or karashi (辛子).
    cherry scent (smells like cherries)
    cannot compare to its taste. (It tasted even better than it smelled.)
    a velvety texture, smooth and rich, (The cake had a soft smooth feel in my mouth. And the flavor was strong but not in a bad way.)
    a flavor more of cherries than chocolate. (It tasted like cherries and chocolate with the cherries being a stronger flavor.)
    utterly, (completely; 全全 )
    sinfully, delectable (It tasted so good it might be a sin.)

    • honeypotter
      November 3, 2009 at 4:15 pm

      I think this comment is very useful and worth reading again and again. As a matter of fact, I have to make one article on one Japanese food by next weekend in English.

      After writing it, I would like you to check my expressions.

  10. November 6, 2009 at 10:55 am

    I’ll have to get to a computer to read my expression in japanese. (Damn phone.) I think I was trying to say, ‘Here it is.’ or, ‘This is it.’ I remember being stuck on particles. ‘ni’ and ‘da’ come to mind. ‘Course, if you put what I wrote in english text, so I could read it now, I’ll tell you from here. (I won’t get to an internet connection for a week or two.) And, OF COURSE I’d be more than happy to review your work. If you post it I can check it quickly. So, post it and email it to me. The email reply I can go further into detail about everything. Such as explaining word choice and usage, structure, grammar, and tense. One note before hand, stick to past tense. Writers tend to use present tense in books for dramatic effect, but it makes it feel contrived. I hope you know, you just made my day. I’m quite elated, in fact. I’m a writer after all. (Or at least, I fancy myself one.) 🙂 🙂 …Tee hee hee… 🙂 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

