Home > My diaries > Every little things in my ordinary life 2

Every little things in my ordinary life 2

A new webcam like a human’s eye
Ever since I was 27 or 28 years old, I often chat with many people all around the world. Yahoo! Messeneger was the main software at my initial chatting experience, though, Skype has taken over the position past few years. I turned my webcam, which I bought 6 years ago, on and had a happy time talking with my friends. Time flies. I’ve recently bought a new webcam, about which I wrote in this blog before, and that made me surprised with its advanced techinical method.

This is the webcam I bought. Logicool QuickCam Orbit AF It looks like a human’s eye very much, doesn’t it? I was impressed with it again as I installed it into my comupter. As the website introduced it, this camera can trace your face in front of your PC. When you stand up in front of your PC, it turns its angle upper, when moving toward right, it chases your face as well.

Watching this camera excitedly, I imagined one slimy but metallic thing in one movie. Do you know the movie, “War of the Worlds”, which Steven Spielberg rivived in 2005? In the movie, there is a scene, in which a father and his daughter, Tom Cruise and Dakota Fanning acted respectively, tried to hide in a basement. And one of aliens came down to the basement and search for humans, then. This new camera reminded me of this slimy but metallic thing in the movie. What do you think of this cam? Anyway, in addition to this chasing function, it can sophisticatedly broadcast your face, even your wrinkles included, so I think I have to go to the aesthetic clinic in order to show my face beautifully…lol

The reason they are going to divide the story into two movies
‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows’ is the book I’m now reading. I just achieved the half of the whole story yesterday, and I understood why the movie director was this time going to divide this story into two movies. You can see a lot of topics even in the first half, which seem necessary in order to put plots into the story. Ofcourse I know directors are also required to abbreviate or omit the original story, however, I think it’s impossible to do it. In other words, if I’m allowed to critically say something, I think the auther puts extra topics into the story too much.

Galloping up and down on the first strings
Ritche Blackmore was my first guitarist turning me on when I was a high school student. In Japan, we often hold a school festival every year in our high school age. At the festival, I stood right in front of audiences and played. ‘Highway Star’ was one of songs I played at the festival. After graduated from the high school, as you see in this blog, my friends and I made our own songs and played them in the livehouse. Ritche Blackmore also had many influences on my playing style, esecially on my guitar solo. My ex-girlfriend, also played the guitar, told me that I tended to finish my guitar solo with galloping up or down on the first strings like Ritche. Listening to this song, I remembered this topic.

Others
I’m going out to have dinner with my friend, so I have no time to reply your comments right now. Sorry about that. I’ll do that tomorrow.

Categories: My diaries
  1. November 3, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    You are damned good on that guitar… …I’m kinda envious. But,ah, (how to put this) was your lead singer off-key and off-que, or was that just because of the video’s quality on YouTube? And about the Harry movies the words you wanted were ‘side stories’ and ‘subplots’. Side stories leave the main character and plot to follow another character without advancing the main story along. Usually, it’s to explain something in a book. It doesn’t transfer well onto film. Subplots are tied to the main plot sometimes only to ‘push’ the story along. Very good on-screen transfer. (Native don’t know these words too often. I’m just a writer, that why I know. We call it ‘fluff’.)

    • honeypotter
      November 4, 2009 at 4:46 pm

      Hi, Mugami, how do you do?

      Oh, you watched my film in YouTube? Thank you so much! Yeah, the qualities of the film suck! I just bought the software which can directly transport from films in VHS into WMV files or AVI files. But I don’t why… Although I followed the instructions, I could’t do that properly. I wonder if I at first transfer them into DVD or something and then I should put them into my HDD as WMV files or something.

      Oh, ‘side stories’ and ‘subplots’, yeah, these are what I tried to express. In ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows’, there are many sidestories in the book, so I guess it’s hard to put all of them into one movie.

      ‘fluff’, is it kinda technical word or analogy between writers? In Japanese entertainment scene, there are some expressions like you said. For instance, “warau” is usually used as “laugh” in ordinary life, however, it is used as “clean up” between entertainment scene.

  2. November 6, 2009 at 6:24 am

    🙂 No, ‘fluff’ is not technical. Actually, it’s offensive. ‘Filler’ is another one. It means, ‘stuff used to make up higher page count, being unnecessary’. ‘Derivative’ is as technical as it gets, I think. Thanks for the new word (warau). There really is no specific literary word for fluff. Hmm… …now you got me thinking…

  3. November 6, 2009 at 8:27 am

    Do you have a DVD-R Player/Recorder for your TV? If so, you can play it on your TV and record it with the DVD-R from the TV. If you have an nVidia graphics card in you computer it probably has the connections and support to do it straight to your computer, as another option. And if you use a converter like the one you said, check the sound quality options. Have it set to whatever it was recorded in or better (try 5.1 or 7.1 Dolby to be safe). This avoids any further compression of the sound quality. If you REALLY want to get into it, you can then stick the video into Windows Movie Maker and mute the sound. Then, using the original copy again use Isobuster to rip the audio from the video in ‘.wav’ format. Now, take the .wav file and feed it into Nero’s Wav Recorder (It’s standard with every version. Look for a bright green icon in Nero the folder.) Play with the equalizer settings and click the ‘Remove static and clicks’ button. You can then save it as ‘.mp3 160kbs w/oversampling’.

  4. November 6, 2009 at 8:36 am

    Finally, add the mp3 to the muted video in Movie Maker. Save. Done. You should now have excellent quality sound, a better video, and everything I used was provided by your computer or was free (well older versions of them anyway). Damn, I wrote you a whole tutorial! I do the same thing all the time, though not for YouTube. 😛 It’s easier than it sounds. Really. 😉

    • honeypotter
      November 9, 2009 at 2:53 pm

      After around in the middle of what you instructed, I felt like my brain exploded. 😦

      In my PC, GeForce8800GT is mounted. I guess it’s no longer called ‘high spec’…Is it useful?

      Unfortunately, I don’t have a DVD player which can record, but I often edit films with Windows Movie Maker. So I’ll try to do it someday…Oops, I have to get your tutorial before doing it. Especially on sound, I haven’t paied attention to it before. As a matter of fact, I know ‘Dolby’ but I can’t tell the difference between 5.1 and 7.1. 😦

  5. November 7, 2009 at 6:22 am

    Alright, so I thought about it ALL DAY. there is no single literary (technical) word for ‘Fluff’. None. I even looked it up. None. The closest I could get was ‘overly elaborate and trite’. That phrase expresses the closest connotation to what ‘fluff’ expresses. Fluff’s more appealing to the ear, as the above phrase is itself is overly elaborate and thus making it’s use to describe anything ironical. So just use ‘fluff’.

    • honeypotter
      November 9, 2009 at 2:36 pm

      Hi, Mugami, how do you do? I’m so sorry I was late to reply for your comments.

      Ummm…then, is it natural to use ‘fluff’ like this; “I fluffed what I tried to say in my article too much”?

      How about this? “I fluffed my sentences in my article.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

