Home > My diaries > The Christmas gift from Eric Martin.

The Christmas gift from Eric Martin.

I had a chance to go to Osaka for the concert of Eric Martin.

Eric Martin, the lead singer of MR.BIG, is famous in Japan and he is also singing covered Japanese songs translated into English. I don’t know how much the sales of his CDs are, though, you can hear his voice through the radio at many places in Japan.

Concerts, live, GIGS, I imagine they are passionate and aggressive. This time, it’s my first time to know there is another type of concerts. It’s like…ummm….the dinner show. I don’t know it’s correct usage in English, however, we use ‘dinner shows’ as one of style of concerts in Japan. Dinner shows are often held in hotels. Famous singers, such as Seiko Matsuda or Go Hiromi, walk between their audience while singing. The audience can enjoy their dinner buring dinner show. Audience can feel singers closer by their walking among tables. That’s the secret people go to dinner shows.(I don’t know if my description is right…lol)

Actually, a few months ago, I also went to the concert of MR.BIG. MR.BIG is also popular among Rock lovers in Japan. Once they started playing their opening song at the concert, we all rose our hands, stood up and shock our hip. Eric’s first song this time was ‘PRIDE’, which is the song Miki Imai, a famous female singer in Japan. People would not stand and focus on his voice because ‘PRIDE’ was a mature song. No one stood. After a few songs went, with Eric’s words, we stood and the concert had been back to ‘the concert.’

The song, ‘M’, is the best song he sings in his album I feel, so I hoped he would sing it. Unfortunately, he couldn’t get my hope. I’ll show you the song…

Eric Martin – M –

He has a hoarse voice generally, but it sounded like worse than usual. Seemed like tough at the highest part of songs.

I was surprised with another thing, following the topic ‘dinner shows’. The concert was consist with two parts and there was a break between them! This was also my first experience. He sang covered Christmas songs in the second half. ‘Last Chrismas’ and other famous Christmas songs in Japan, he covered them. He’s recently composed these covered Christmas CD and launched them.

By the way, the Japanese often sing ‘Last Christmas’ and ‘All I Want For Christmas Is You’ at karaoke because they don’t know other famous Christmas songs in English so much, ofcourse including me. “Even though I don’t listen to and sing English songs, I know only ‘Last Christmas’ and ‘All I Want For Christmas Is You'” my friends who can’t speak English often say it.

Ummm…the impression of his concert…I must say ‘not so great’ this time. Choice of songs, his performance, the atmospheres of the hall, I couldn’t get satisfied so much. Next year, I’m going to go to the concert of Backstreet Boys. I have much expectation on it.

I went to a few shrines before the concert. I’ll write articles about them next time.

Categories: My diaries
  1. Mugami
    December 8, 2009 at 6:52 am

    Oh, poor Potter. 😦 I think when america is done with a band they send it to japan! Mr. Big was a ‘one hit wonder’ in the early to mid-80s and Backstreet Boys were done by 2002 and even when they WERE popular it was only with girls and younger women. A ‘Dinner Show’ is the right word, I guess. Though typically, it refers to plays, not orchestra music (called, a ‘live or house band’). But, as for contemporary music goes, the term would seem to suffice. What you describe would never occur in the US. We get rowdy. My generation loves mosh pits. 🙂 This is probably why almost no japanese music hits US shores. Even underground. The few exceptions are Maximum the Hormone (who toured the US. with Dropkick Murphy; huge in the metal hardcore scene), FACT (gaining popularity with scene kids), and DUREN Grey (still on tour, I think, in the US). You might have heard Max before. They did the opening and closing theme songs for the second season of Death Note. They’ve been on the Oricon Top Ten a few times, too.

    • honeypotter
      December 13, 2009 at 6:49 pm

      Hey, you gave new words to me again. Thank you so much, Mugami. ‘one hit wonder’ I’ll use it in other place. 😀

      Oh, Both of MR.BIG and BackstreetBoys already WERE? Even now, I listen to their songs…haha

      Ummm…the bands you introduced in your comment(FACT etc)…I don’t know them at all…

  2. Mugami
    December 8, 2009 at 7:09 am

    It seems I’m gonna have to introduce you to BETTER and more RECENT american music. You probably won’t like what I listen to now, ojisama 😛 , but I still have A LOT of music. We’ll fix problem, buddy. 🙂 We gotta get you outta the dark era of bad music. We’ll listen to some bands together on thursday man, figure out what you like, etc.,. Maybe some Everclear, some NIN, Tool, Panic at The Disco, Rob Zombie, Matchbox Twenty. Yeah, I’m gonna hook you UP, dawg!!!

    • honeypotter
      December 13, 2009 at 6:53 pm

      You made me laugh, Mugami and you already check and re-use your Japanese word as I said before! ‘ojisama’! You used it as ‘oji-sama(a grandfather or an elderly person)’ great! But, Mugami, I don’t even have any kids…please call me…’oni-sama’ hahahaha

      Oh, I know ‘Matchbox Twenty’

  3. December 8, 2009 at 7:25 am

    Hi H.P. 🙂

    Maybe he was tired.

    But listening to the song reminds me of taking a walk along the street, a full moon and street lights echoing, while snow is falling.
    What about that Mugami? 😆

    Everclear and Matchbox Twenty are okay. I’m not too crazy about their new album, that is, Backstreet Boys. I wonder if NSYNC will ever perform together again?

    Enjoy the concert. 🙂

  4. Mugami
    December 8, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    Girly, you got a huge smile out of me! 🙂 🙂 🙂 Me, I’ll have to agree with Eminem, when he said, “Instinct’s to kill N’sync, don’t get me started…They can’t sing. And Brittany’s garbage…” But really, that’s just my opinion. I don’t like power ballads or dance music. My music is about lyrics that reach me. So that most music in the gutter, by my standards. And, while I have on problem with covers I want the music to be written by the artist themself. Or they should stay home. But, like I said, to each his own. 😉 On a Sidenote: People used to make me sing ‘Bye, bye, bye’ at karaoke because I could sound like both guys singing and I knew all the dance moves. I first did it on a dare. What a MISTAKE!!! People had me do it for months!

  5. December 10, 2009 at 8:11 am

    Hmm, you knew all the dance moves, and the song. 🙂

    My favorite by them is, yes is, This I Promise You.

    Not crazy about Britney either.

    But yeah, music has that power to influence, and it’s about the lyrics. Taste is a personal choice.

    • honeypotter
      December 13, 2009 at 6:57 pm

      Hey, guys, I’m glad that you two talk with each other about music. I’m so sorry, girlgeum, I couldn’t reply for your comment.

      Oh, ‘NSYNC, I’ve already written an article about ‘NSYNC. ‘Bye Bye Bye’ is one of my songs at karaoke.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

