Home > Japanese Culture > Gifts for children at the beginning of the year

Gifts for children at the beginning of the year

Happy new year, all! How’s your holidays? Me, I was supposed to go to Kyoto for hatsumoude, but couldn’t because of snow. I’m planning to go somewhere instead of Kyoto, I think Okazaki, where Ieyasu Tokugawa was born, would be better.

I already told you in my blog that my younger sister got her baby next year. For me, this is my first time to give her baby otoshidama in my entire life. Otoshidama is one of gifts which elder people give to younger people at the beginning of the year. People put their money into colorful envelopes which say celebrating words on it, and gift them to younger people, such as their children, nephews and nieces.

My nephew is just seven months old, so I didn’t think I should give otoshidama to him. ‘It’s ok I give it to him, though. His otoshidama would change his diapers or something, I guess.’ said I. ‘I don’t think so. She must put it aside.’ said my parents. ‘OK, I’ll give otoshidama to him as long as he keeps calling me oniisan, not ojisan.’ I said it to my parents with my claim.

How much money as otoshidama are you going to give to someone younger? It depends on how old he/she is, I think. 1,000 yen would be fine for a child before he/she enters an elementary school. What do you think? When I was a kid, I asked my parents to give otoshidama, not bank bills but coins. I felt I got much money when I got coins even though the same amount of money I got.

What? When am I going to give otoshidama to MY OWN BABY? My god…don’t ask me such a question, please. The answer is…definitely God knows….lol

Incidentaly, at the very moment I gave otoshidama to my nephew, he started crying! Ummm…what makes him cry? I heard from my younger sister that he always crys when he sees males except his father. When my sister took him to see her husband’s father, he suddenly cried after he saw his grandfather’s face. The grandfather was shocked and got lonely.

I’ll put a photo of otoshidama bukuro and my nephew. My mother carries him piggyback with an old-fashioned clothes.

I got them at shop when I went to Tokyo. You can see the letters ‘ekichika‘ on envelopes.
null

This is his photo in October. There were still mosquitos here and they bit him. Look at his pimple thing between his eyebrows. It looks so itchy.
null

Categories: Japanese Culture Tags:
  1. January 5, 2010 at 7:29 am

    She had her baby last year.

    Coins are heavier, so the thinking might be that you had more. :)Like four quarters equal one dollar.

    He cries when he only sees males. Hmm. He’s loving the ladies. 😆

    So I guess it’s like pocket money?

    I won’t ask the question that you don’t want ask. Although I’ve just alluded to it. 🙂

    Being a mother or father is tough, but it has its pleasures.

    • honeypotter
      January 5, 2010 at 12:49 pm

      >Coins are heavier, so the thinking might be that you had more.

      Exactly! I felt I got rich(totally, easy come, easy go 🙂 ) when my parents gave me coins.

      >He’s loving the ladies.

      Yeah, I think so. 🙂 I wonder how he would grow…lol

      >Although I’ve just alluded to it.

      Yeah, please do. 😆 I’m not saying I don’t want, I just don’t have such a chance… Oh, lame excuses…lol

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

