Home > My diaries > She already knows what the elder haven’t noticed

She already knows what the elder haven’t noticed

Now that information I often get is from Internet, not TV. The opportunities I watch TV are dramatically decreasing. Under such cercumstances, however, one girl, who is just an elementary school student, attracted me by chance in early Saturday morning.

The girl in one TV program got a terrible disease and was in the hospital for a month. While in the hospital, she saw one Japanese malathon athlete running in a race. The female athlete stumbled in her race again and again, however, she didn’t give up her race and kept running. The girl in the hospital got so touched with the athlete and decided to run like the athlete. After she got out from the hospital, she kept running and that made her healther.

She, as TV said, recorded how much time she got in running 3 kilometers and tried to run over it within 20 minutes. It sounds like very tough for female elementary students to do so in such time. TV staff invited a coach from an university and let him teach the girl how to well run, especially the running form. What’s interesting is that she thought a lot of things on running by herself. She not only got what the coach tried to teach but also questioned the coach again after she thought it. “genuinely absorb what the senior said, think it enough and try it by oneself” are the essential method for people to get better in any category.

There are some English learners in Japan who only ask. Ask…ask…ask… “Which textbooks are better?” “Tell me the best way to get a higher score in the test” “Tell me the secret to speak English fluently” you can already get a lot of methods or secrets from a lot of teachers and books. All you have to do now is just keep using, keep learing English, not think or learn about the best WAYS.

In the TV program, the girl attended the competition and surprisingly accomplished her target, less than 17(not 20) minutes for 3 kilometers. She already knows the ways to improve herself. “O.K. What about you?” such words appeared in my brain through screen.

It was so impressive in her mother’s words that she always grabbed her insurance card and patient registration card just in case every time her daughter attended the race but she told her daughter that she gave them away. During the race, the mother’s heart must have been pounding and hoped nothing happened to her daughter.

Categories: My diaries
  1. January 31, 2010 at 5:28 am

    Hi, honeyportter! Today’s the last day of January. How was it?

    This is a nice journal. I would totally agree with you.
    The same thing happened to me. I think I had been looking for the best ways to learn for long time. But I realized that it was waste of time since I met some English learners last year in my town.

    An instructor talked me the same things at a workshop which I attended in Tokyo last week. Japanese English learners should stop searching for the Holy Grail, right? They are in hand. The problem is whether do it or not, I think. Of course it can be said about me…

    • honeypotter
      January 31, 2010 at 9:40 pm

      Hi, Penguin-taro! How’s it goin’?

      Me, I enjoyed visiting temples this weekend and reading a book. 🙂

      Actually, I understand how enjoyable discussing ‘The best method’ with each other is. I, however, think I must do something on English itself before the discussion. Besides, that’s enough for a ton of worthless questions without thinking by oneself.

      “The Holy Grail”, such a nice expression. Once we get it, we could become a superman without any effort. 🙂

  2. February 2, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    I’m proud of that girl. Trying and trying. Learning from other people. Pushing herself.

    It seems as if when trying to learn English, some overburden themselves with too many materials and a time limit. And then they become frustrated and overwhelm, leading to anxiety and a sense of failure. Then they probably give up.

    What are they learning for in the first place? Is it for themselves, their boss, their parents. Your heart must be in it, and so must your will, a desire, perseverance, etc.

    • honeypotter
      February 4, 2010 at 12:18 am

      Some overburden…yeah, I think so. Besides, the Japanese are afraid their mistakes. We, sometimes including me, are embarrassed with our own failures in English. Perfect grammars, perfect pronunciations, a lot of things are circling in their brains when speaking or writing in English.

      What they’re learning for… It depends on the situations, but most of learners, especially learners after graduations, start learning English for their career, I guess. Incidentally, me, in order to enjoy a lot of medias, I learn English. 🙂

  3. February 8, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    When I see them on youtube or other places, it feels that way. They seem embarrassed and forcing themselves to speak as if the words are turning rapidly out of their brains. It comes out that way sometimes.

    • honeypotter
      February 12, 2010 at 11:33 pm

      >as if the words turning rapidly…

      That’s the topic appeared between learners! “I can’t translate what I’m thinking in Japanese into in English well.” There’s no need to translate it, I think. Even though I’m trying to think in English, I can hardly express what I’m thinking or feeling quickly…lol

  4. February 16, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    Maybe because you’re worried about saying the right thing?

    • honeypotter
      February 18, 2010 at 1:54 pm

      Yeah, you’re right.

      While thinking in English, especially talking in English, I can’t help wondering if what I’m saying is right. That makes my talk slow. I think I should do something to change my mind.

  5. February 18, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    The more you speak, the more easier it’ll become. I saw in an interview that Takeshi Kanershiro was doing the same thing.

    • honeypotter
      February 20, 2010 at 6:27 pm

      Hi, girlgeum, how’s it goin’? 🙂

      Oh, you also know Takeshi Kaneshiro? Great. You really know Japan well. Yeah, I’m now trying to speak English more than ever, and trying to get more chances to talk in English.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

