Home > My diaries > His breath made me anxious…the 1st day of my travel Vol.1

His breath made me anxious…the 1st day of my travel Vol.1

Hi, there. I’m back. 😀 Many friends were worried about my travel before I left Japan. First, this was my first time to fly. Second, it was said that travels for Philippines were quite dangerous for the first timer. Thanks to much advice from my friends, I enjoyed my trip and spent my time without any accident. This time, I’ll write an article when I was in the airport, CENTRAIR.

Centrair, Chubu Centrair International Airport, is 5th International Airport in Japan, which is located at Chita peninsula.

Here’s airport access for Centrair.
null

Incidentally, you can see where the airport is in Japan with these maps.
null
null

It takes 20 minutes or so from my house to the airport. I woke up at 5 o’clock in the morning, wrote my previous journal in this blog, and left my house at 6:50. This was the first time for foreign countries. “Hey, do you know how to exactly do in airports? Did you know people put off their shoes and put on slippers when boarding? Do you know such a procedure?” one of my friends chuckled me with such a joke. After I decided to go, I checked the procedures in airports and knew he joked me. lol

This is the check counter at Centrair. Many travelers were already there and were in line. “Hold your passport tight after you arrived at Phil. There’s no safe deposit box in your hotel.” another friend told me about it. “I’m still in Japan, so there’s no problem even if I walk with my passport in my hand?” thinking like that, I was waiting for my turn.
null

“How should I do next?” I asked the staff. “At the security inspection, you’re required to be checked.” answered the staff. I often watched people in movies getting beeps when they went through the gate. “What if the beep rings?” I was a little bit nervous but nothing happened to me.
null

This is the picture after the inspection.
null

After immigrations, all I had to do was to board. I had a small time before boarding. I twittered “I’ll leave Japan”, and had breakfast.
null

This is the airplane in which I got. Philippine Airlines PR 437.
null

Finally, I’m going through the gate. Flight attendants smiled us.
null

I wanted to take a window seat because this was my first flight. Luckily, I got it.
null

Right after I sit the seat, a middle-aged man sit the aisle seat. He looked over 45 or 50, with white hairs on his head. In addition, he was a little bit over-weighted. At that time, it didn’t matter at all for me. However, my nightmare had started after he started talking to me.

“Hi, are you going to see your girlfriend?” asked the man friendly. He told me that he had a girlfriend in Phil and was going to see her. It’s not extraordinary. Many middle-aged Japanese go to Phil to see young ladies in Phil. I don’t mind it. That’s the matter between he and she. However, I got one problem on him… The fact was that…

He had baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad breath 😦 With his words, the damn smell was transferred to me. “Oh my God…I MUST endure this fuckin’ breath for four hours while flying? Ummm…so toxic!” answering his questions, I thought it.

“Don’t speak Japanese while staying in Phil, ok?” this was one of my themes in this travel. When one of flight attendants handed out blankets and head phones, I talked to her in English. Looking at my book written in English, he kept talking to me; “Are you a student in university?.” “Hey, Mr…I’m gonna be 36 years old. Thank you for your flattering.” thinking like that, I told him I already worked and this was my first time to travel. “Why Phil? There are a lot of better places for travel. Why?” asked He.

I wanted to throw the same question back to him, but I didn’t. As I wrote in my previous journals, it was going to be a long story to explain the reason why I choose Philippine. “Excuse me, I’d like to get some sleep listening to music. May I?” I left as heartfelt words as possible and started sleeping.

“I wonder what’s lying ahead…” That was what I thought during my first flight.

To be continued…

Categories: My diaries Tags: ,
  1. March 25, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    Welcome back H.P. 🙂

    Whew, now that’s over. Sounds like an adventure and you had fun, even before leaving Japan. 🙂 I remember the first time I flew, it was scary. I hate flying by the way.

    Yeah, sometimes you get an interesting passenger sitting next to you, and sometimes you don’t.

    Now they have the whole body scanner x-ray machines; I don’t like that. Someone watching you from another room and seeing “everything”.

    There are some people your age that’s in university. A lot have been, and are going back to college.

    • honeypotter
      March 25, 2010 at 5:51 pm

      Hi, girlgeum! Thank you 😀 Glad to say “I’m back” to you. 😀

      Yeah, I got an adventurous start. 😀 There were a lot of exciting things during my travel.

      >There are some people your age that’s in university. A lot have been, and are going back to college.

      Come to think of it, the man sitting next to me already had an international standard on education, not the Japanese one. As you said, it’s not strange to get back to universities to re-study once they started working. But in Japan, such thoughts have not been accepted yet. I however guess things are going to change. Me, ofcourse, I’d like to go somewhere and learn something. Oops, I already am. I’m learning English now. 😀 And you are as well, girlgeum, right?

  2. March 26, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    Bettering my grammar skills. 🙂

    Have a nice weekend. 🙂

    This Sunday is Palm Sunday. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Palm_Sunday

    Have you ever heard of it? Do you have any special religious days in your country?

    • honeypotter
      March 27, 2010 at 9:47 pm

      Hi, girlgeum! 😀

      Yeah, I saw your improvement on Japanese. Very impressed! Good at using a small “つ”!

      Palm Suday, I’ve never heard of it before. Special religious days in Japan…yeah, we have a few ceremonial days like Palm Sunday. I guess I didn’t post journals on them very well. I’ll learn them and post them. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

