Home > My diaries > A lot of exciting things in Phil…the first day of my travel Vol.2

A lot of exciting things in Phil…the first day of my travel Vol.2

The last half of the first day.

Thanks to the man who had bad breath, I could get much sleep in the airplane.

The terminal 2 in the Ninoy Aquino International Airport was my front door in this travel. With my disembarkation card in my hand, I made my way to the immigration. As I wrote at the previous journal, there were many middle-aged Japanese in the same airplane. For the Philippines, the Japanese are still important customers even if we are under disastrous recessions. “Japanese, here!” staff pointed out a few gates.

Finally, I’d arrived at the Philippines.

I nearly felt on top of the world, however, “It’s so dangerous you must be careful with everything.” my friends’ advice reminded me of this situation. There was no chance to take any pictures.

After I finished all of procedures and stood in front of the entrance of the airport, I got surprised. Many people were crowded at the entrance!

I got out of the airport safely, I went eating something. “I’d like to eat something local.” It was a sea food for my answer. Before I arrived at a restaurant, there was one thing I had to. Exchanging money.

As you know, the Philippines relies on foreign funds very much. People go out their country, work in foreign countries, and send their money to their families. It’s quite strange for Japanese, but it’s not so unnatural that many exchangers run in towns. There are not such exchangers in Japan. I mean, we don’t have such chances to exchange our money frequently. Banks are the places where we can exchange our money in Japan.

Here’s the exchanger I dropped by at first. You can hardly see what kind of shop is.
null

After the exchanger, I hit a sea food restaurant. A surprising thing again! Here’s the restaurant.
null

At a restaurant in Japan, people open the door, walk toward the tables, take their seats, and just order what they want. However, at the restaurant, I had to choose what I wanted the chef to cook at the market across the road. Here’s the market.
null

As a matter of fact, I didn’t have much knowledge on sea food. I don’t even know names of fish or shells in Japanese. “Hey, Mr! How about this? asari!” thanks to the clerk’s Japanese, I got which was asari(Manila clam). “Ummm…I can eat Manila clams even in Japan.” said I. “Then, how about this?” the clerk pointed out the green-colored shells next to Manila clams. “Oh, my god… what color! There’s no such shells I’ve ever seen! OK, I’ll try them.”

Here it is. Very vivid green, right? Actually, their appearances, especially their color…quite surprising, but on the contrary, they were very delicious.
null

Incidentally, I talked about shells with my friend in Japan at the night, who has been in Phil for a long time. He advised me to take a medicine because the sands in the shells might not be removed enough or properly.

One more thing, at the second day, I went to an aquarium and found the same shells sticking to a board and opening their mouths in the aquarium. The green-colored things…lol I felt complicated to see them…lol

On the way to a hotel, a new thing made me surprised again. I wanted to get some bottles of mineral water, so I asked the driver to drop by a convenience store. At the entrance of the store, I got surprised again. Guards? Gates? There’s no such thing in convenience stores in Japan.
null

Looking around other stores and buildings, guards were positioned in front of each entrance. Because of shoplifters, stores need guards. Guards check customers’s bag and touch their waists if customers would have dangerous things, such as a gun.

A few hours later, I went to the hotel and relaxed. I brought a few bags of powder which change mineral water into sport drinks. Here it is.
null

After relaxing for a while, I hit the restaurant in the hotel which ran 24 hours so that I had dinner. At the restaurant, I got a beer, San Miguel, the most famous beer in Phil. It’s been a long time to have beer. I guess the third time this year.
null

A leg of chicken was my dinner.
null

Most of Philippines have their hospitalities. Some waiters talked to me. Thanks to English, I could communicate with them easily. They were so young. The good-looking guy on the right side of the photo often entertained me.
null

I’m not saying all of people in Phil are so, but most of people often sing songs while working. “Excuse me, sir.” taking plates back to the kitchen from me, he often sang song and sometimes took steps like he was dancing. Other waiters gathered and kept talking with me as well. One of waiters said to me, “Sir, what are you going to do here?” “Just a vacation.” answered I. “Sir, I’d like to have a sea food noodle.” asked He. “Japanese products?” said I. “Yes.” smiled He.

I don’t know why, but Japanese sea food noodles are very popular in Phil. “O.K. I’m going to go to a shopping mall tomorrow. I’ll get them and gift them to you. For the princess and three knights!” I promised it. Here they are, the princess and three knights.
null

I told them this blog’s address. I hope they would see this journal. Thank you so much, guys. I had a happy travel.

Badly, my happy time could not keep going so long. My room in the hotel was in 20th floor. I felt happy with their hospitalities and beer, but the very first phrase I said once I entered the room; “What the hell…”

Something small gathered around my coke on the table… ANTS!!!! This time, flesh-colored ants!!! “Hey, am I staying in 20th floor, right? You guys work so hard! You guys don’t need to be up such a high floor!” saying like that, I took the can to the lavatory and washed it. “Ummm…I must not leave any drink. I must keep any drink in the fridge.” that’s what I’d learned. Ants were too small to see in the photo.
null

To be continued…

Categories: My diaries Tags: , ,
  1. March 29, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    Hi H.P. 🙂

    😆

    Love reading about your travel. You met some nice and cool waiters. In the airports in America, they usually have money exchanges. It’s great that you tried some of the local dishes. The ants also booked their rooms at the hotel. Love the pictures. There’s crime everywhere.

    I suppose to ask you did your ears hurt when you traveled? I know when I’m on a plane I normally chew gum so my ears won’t hurt. I know you have swimmers ear.

    Listened to some local music?

    Waiting for the continuation.

    • honeypotter
      March 30, 2010 at 4:43 pm

      Hi, girlgeum! 😀

      Wow, I’m so glad you enjoy reading my travel journal 😀 I was lucky to meet nice people there and also happy with me to enjoy local dishes. 😀

      Ohhh, something wrong with my ears while flying. I tried to yawn to get rid of it. Music! I have a topic on music. Don’t miss the next journal. 😀 I’ve recently been busy, but I’ll write it as soon as I can. 😀

  2. March 31, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    Okay. 🙂

    • honeypotter
      April 2, 2010 at 4:18 am

      Hi, girlgeum!

      Sooo busy I could write only my dairy 😦

      Now, I’ll go back to home and get some sleep…Zzzz… Good night, girlgeum, have a sweet dream 😀

  3. April 2, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    You too. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

