Home > My diaries > Every little thing in my ordinary life 18

Every little thing in my ordinary life 18

I don’t why
I wrote an article last week, in which I introduced you my dream. I just noticed that it was posted without a permission to leave comments. I don’t know why. I’m sorry for that. I’ll make sure if this journal would be posted without such setting.

Sunburned
I had two meetings last Saturday. One was held in the morning, and the other was done in the night. I went to several places for sightseeing between these meetings. One castle, three shrines, one temple. I’ll post their journal someday.

One of the clients at the night said to me, “Have you drunk? Your face is so red.” Yes, it was a so shiny day that I got sunburned.

I had no ointment or cream while walking. Now, it hurt.

Grilled eels gave me some minerals and made my friend’s face wry
A few weeks ago, my grandmother suddenly told me that she wanted to eat grilled eels and rice(una-don, or una-juu in Japanese).

Japanese love eating grilled eels and rice, especially between July and August. Eels contain much of vitamin A and B in their body. In summer, many Japanese have little appetite. Vitamin A and B help us eat something.

I could add the volume of rice without an extra charge at the restaurant. 600 grams was what I ordered. It was the maximum at the restaurant.

This is it.
null

I talked about this cuisine with my friend, who is Canadian and acted in my dream at the previous article. “Eels?!” She was surprised with this long, slippery and slimy thing. Is there no custom in Canada?

My BGM…Back Ground Movie
Last week’s movie…was “the lake house”, in which Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock acted.

Letters are the only way to correspond for them. Keanu lives his life in 2004 and Sandra lives hers in 2006. They keep in touch and gradually know each other. When Keanu’s father died, Sandra expressed her feeling like this; “I wish somehow I could be there with you. I could be a shoulder for you like you’ve been for me.”

I wish somehow I could encourage you.

Categories: My diaries
  1. May 11, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    Hi. H.P. 🙂
    Sometimes I get the urge to eat certain foods too.

    The eels look good; will I eat it? You know I haven’t eaten anything that comes from out of the sea in ages. Why? Dolphins. Watching a National Geographic presentation about them left an impressionable mark on me, plus before that, I wanted one as a pet. 🙂 What am I going to do with one as a pet right? 😆

    To get to the tuna, the fishermen were killing the dolphins, so, I stopped eating tuna, and then conch, then fish, then everything that came from the sea.

    I’m beginning to change my mind about lots of food. I started eating eggs again.

    Lake House a remake of Il Mare, the South Korean Movie.

    I love sightseeing.

    • honeypotter
      May 13, 2010 at 5:56 pm

      Hi, girlgeum! How are you? 😀

      Yes, boiled eels were so delicious! Sure, please try it. 😀

      Oh, dolphins… I haven’t eaten cooked dolphins before. Not so many Japanese have tried to eat dolphins, I guess.

      I have one question. What the difference is between eating dolphins or whales and eating other animals, such as cows or pigs? I think throwing away killed animals without using enough(ex, the Americans used to hunt whales in order to extract oils. After getting oils, they dumped whales’ bodies).

      Oh, the movie “Lake House” was the one which was revived from a Korean movie? Great. 😀

  2. May 14, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    Great question. The answer is, for me, I wanted a dolphin as a pet, so in them killing them to get to the tuna, I didn’t like when I saw it on TV. There was something personal in it.

    Food shouldn’t be wasted, even after extracting what you wanted from it.

    Now to answer generally, I guess it depends on how a person sees an animal. By that I mean, if they view it in sacred terms or something along those lines.

    This leads to another point, the sovereignty of a country. If a country’s sovereign, don’t they have a right to practice and carry out their traditions in the food they have eaten for so many years? I’m referring to the Japanese whale hunts. I don’t agree with Australia and others dictating what and how people of a country should catch and eat their food.

    Not to be a sore thumb in raising this point.

    • honeypotter
      May 14, 2010 at 11:52 pm

      Actually, there is no custom in my personal life, such as eating dolphins. I’m close to your mind. As a pet, dolphins would be natural for me.(I would like to taste just only one time…sorry about that)

      As you know, peoples in some country eat dogs. I have the same feeling what Australians have for whales or dolphins.

      The most important thing is, the balance and mutual understanding when we conflict on each cultures. I don’t know what measures to solve the conflictions would be better, though. I guess it’s what we should think the first.

      I have to say thank you for this topic. You gave me a chance to think about this issue.

  1. August 28, 2010 at 11:43 pm

Leave a Reply

