Home > Japanese Culture > The temple where I should have visited in autumn

The temple where I should have visited in autumn

After I dropped by Inuyama castle, I had lunch at a restaurant in front of the castle.

I saw one name of fish on the menu. Ayu, sweetfish grilled with salt. It was quite expensive(about 22 U.S. dollars?), but I ordered it. “I’m afraid we’re out.” said the clerk. Kishimen was what I finally decided to eat.

Here it is. Flat, long and thin noodles were served with several blocks of ice. You can see a cup next to the noodles. There is liquid in the cup, called tsuyu. You can dip the noodles into the cup with chopsticks and eat them.
null

Kishimen was born in this region, which is famous for its shape of noodle.

“O.K. the next destination is Momotaro shrine!” I stepped on the gas and headed for the shrine. As I was driving, I noticed another temple’s name on the screen of the navigaion in my car. It said Jyakkouin. The temple looked so big from the map. “I’ll stop by this temple before the shrine.” I still didn’t know tough time was waiting for me.

My car climbed a zigzag steep. I parked my car at the foot of the temple and started walking. As I said, I was in a suit and had leather shoes.

Oh, my Gosh! What long stairs! Take a look at this picture. A series of stairs were lying in front of me. I just regreted visiting here with the suit when I reached the first landing. I could see the next stairs when I looked up.
null

Some of the elderly had stopped at the landing and had a break. I was the youngest person between pilgrims. I didn’t think I should take a break like they did. This was the second regret. I was out of breath when I stood at the top of the mountain.

I had one surprising topic. On the way to the top, one creature made me surprised. As I was climbing up the stairs, I found something like a rope. I nearly trod it. Guess what? It was a snake! Its head was triangle…it was a copperhead, the poisonous one!

One thought appeared in my mind. “Yes, I got a new tidbid in this blog! I’ll take the photo of this snake!” I carefully closed to the snake and tried to take the photograph of the snake, especially of its face. I guessed he(she?) was quite shy. He(She?) noticed my eyes through my camera and started moving. “Hey, don’t move! Turn around and look at me!” I said to the snake but he(she) was gone. Sorry I couldn’t get the photo.

At the top of the mountain, St.Kuukai relieved me with his spiritual eyes.
null

This is the main hall of this temple.
null

This temple, Jyakkouin, has another name, Momiji dera(maple temple). You can see spectacular and amazing red leaves all over the mountain. Maybe you could get rid of your exhaustion with the archway of red leaves even if you stepped tough stairs.

I’d like to visit this temple in autumn, ofcourse with casual clothes and shoes. lol

I’ll post the website of this temple. You can see the beauty of red leaves.
Red leaves in Jyakkouin

Categories: Japanese Culture Tags: ,
  1. May 21, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    Hi H.P. 🙂

    I’ve read blogs about food before, but this one with the blocks of ice, interesting.

    I guess you didn’t want them to think that you weren’t virile, so no break.

    And the snake, I’ll be on the opposite side of the world, not stopping to take a picture. 😆 And poisonous. H.P., you’re brave, or hmm, Indiana Jones. 😆

    I’m always fascinated by the colors of nature.

    Have a nice weekend. 🙂

    • honeypotter
      May 21, 2010 at 7:01 pm

      Hi, girlgeum! 😀

      Japanese noodles usually have two ways to be served. One is to be with blocks of ice or cool soup. And the other is to be with hot soup. It was so hot outside that I choosed the cool one. 😀

      Oh, virile. Thanks to pretending to be virile, I had muscle aching at the following day… 😆

      He(I mean, the snake) was quite shy. 😀 Oh, Indiana Jones! I should wear a hat like him. 😀

      I’ll try to take as many photographs in Japan as I can, and introduce them to you in this blog. 😀

  2. May 24, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    Thank you.

    “I had muscle aching at the following day…” Think about the exercise you got, this is my way of trying to put a positive spin on it.

    • honeypotter
      May 27, 2010 at 1:31 pm

      Hi, girlgeum! Sorry I’m late to reply. I’ve been busy. 😦

      I couldn’t post a new article about temples. Instead of it, I just wrote politics. I hope you would enjoy it.

      Incidentally, I’ve recently been suffering from muscle aching…

  3. May 27, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    It’s the walk that did it. 🙂

    Post when you have time, no problem.

    How’s the building going, the new building?

    I did enjoy the article.

    • honeypotter
      May 29, 2010 at 3:38 pm

      Thank you, girlgeum. 😀

      The building… the one for our new business? Sadly, the cost for constructions couldn’t meet our budget. 😦 Now, we’re looking for another place or space. I hope we could get new and affordable information. 😀

  4. May 31, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    Hope so too. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

