Home > Japanese Culture > The forest embraced me softly

The forest embraced me softly

I went to the graves of two Emperors and two Empresses in Tokyo last week.

The present Emperor is 125th and all of 124 emperors’graves have their own graves in Japan. This is my first visit to the graves. This time, the graves of Showa, Taishou Emperors and their each Empresses was where I visited.

Emperors and Empresses are given their new name after they die, which is called okurina, such as the Showa Emperor. You must not call the present Emperor the Heisei Emperor. It’s quite impolite. As long as the present Emperor is alive, you have to call him the kinjou Emperor. The name “Heisei” is going to be given him after he dies.

The graves are in Hachiouji city, Tokyo. The word “Tokyo” brings me imagine “urban city”, but the closer I got to Hachiouji, the stronger I felt as if I was in my peninsula. It looks countryside.

I asked a clerk which way for the graves when I was at the station. “You can take a shortcut for the grave. Over there.” She smiled at me and pointed one direction.

I crossed this river and walked along the narrow street for 10 or 15 minutes. Here it is.
null

“Not again!” I couldn’t help shouting. Did you remember that the appearance of the snake surprised me before? This time, another one did me either. The relationship between snakes and me is old ties. I succeeded in taking her photo this time. She was not poisonous one.
null

This is the main road, not the shortcut. You can enjoy the tunnel of trees.
null

Look at this, the entrance of the forest is waiting for you. The sign shows all the names of the Emperors and the Empresses.
null
null

My every step sounds comfortably on the gravel road. I savored the atmosphere of this forest, silent but brave one.
null

This is the grave of the Showa Emperor, which is called “Musashino misasagi. The Showa Emperor often quoted a poem from an ancient anthology, Manyoushuu. Musashino is the place which the Showa emperor referred when he brought out his last poem. Incidentally, the limited people such as the Emperors or the Empresses can be allowed to use the word misasagi as grave. The grave to me in Japanese is “haka”.
null
null

This is the grave of the Koujun Empress (the wife of the Showa Emperor).
null
null

This is the grave of the Taishou Emperor, which is called “Tama no misasagi.” Tama is one of places as well as Musashino is, which appeared in an ancient anthology.
null
null

Take a look at this great forest. I could hear some voice without any sounds from the forest.
null

This is the grave of the Teimei Empresses (the wife of the Taishou Emperor).
null
null

After I visited each grave and prayed, I dropped by the office of this premises in order to get Emperors’ stamps. They are called “goryouin.”

Here they are. The stamp on the right side is the Taishou Emperor’s, and the left one is the Showa Emperor’s.
null

There are still over 120 graves to go so that I complete all the stamps. The next destination I’m planning to go to is Kyoto.

Categories: Japanese Culture
  1. June 21, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    Hi H.P. 🙂

    This is like wow.

    This exudes a sense of serenity; the pictures. Thank you for them. 🙂

    • honeypotter
      June 22, 2010 at 12:16 am

      Hi, girlgeum! 😀

      I’m so glad that you liked the photographs. I guess Mr.snaky can accent other photographs’ serenity. 😆

  2. June 22, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    Yeah, he was the icing on the cake that sealed the calmness. Not. 🙂

    • honeypotter
      June 25, 2010 at 6:01 am

      And he is a bit photogenic, isn’t he? 😆

  3. June 25, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    Yeah. Say cheese. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

