Home > My diaries > Every little thing in my ordinary life 22

Every little thing in my ordinary life 22

I’ve been busy
I’ve been sidetracked with preparation for an English test on Sunday July 25th, which is named TOEIC. I got 910 points out of 990 points last year. This time, I don’t know how much I get, but I promised to get a striking score. I’m sure I can make it.

There are a lot of companies in which employees are required to achieve designated scores for their promotions. In order to compete with foreign businesses, several companies decided to speak only English during their work. Ironically, one of those companies adopt TOEIC as a measure of employees’ English communication skills. How do you judge who is the best or who is the worst with the score of TOEIC? TOEIC consists of just two parts, just only READING and LISTENING. I just want to know the reasons why the companies choose TOEIC even though they know what the test exactly is.

There are a bunch of learners who insist on only the scores of TOEIC and can hardly speak and write English(or they are not used to speaking and writing).

Why do I take TOEIC? Because it’s fun. I know there are a lot of things I should know, I should learn, I should acquire in TOEIC.

Far beyond my expectation
I’m watching a soccer game in the 2010 World Cup. Japan is leading by 2 points now.

Before the World Cup started, I didn’t expect too much from Japan national team because they lost their four test matches in a row. I didn’t care their results, but did care their performance. It was awful, a disater. However, look at their play in the World Cup. Their cool persistence could beat Cameroons. Their spectacular dedication suprised Netherland.

I must say I’m sorry and I admire their great growth. It must become a big meaning for the histroy of Japan’s soccer when they clear the preliminary rounds.

Look at Honda‘s cool and quick turn with his right heel and his last pass to Okazaki! Great!

They did it!

Categories: My diaries
  1. June 25, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    Hi H.P. 🙂

    My three teams in this year’s World Cup are England, Japan, and New Zealand.

    The prelims meant nothing once you’ve made it. It’s like a fresh slate that now has to be written on.

    They should focus on speaking English more.

    Have a nice weekend. 🙂

    • honeypotter
      June 29, 2010 at 2:08 pm

      Hi, girlgeum, how’s your weekend? 😀

      Japan is going to step forward to a new history tonight. I believe, I hope they will do. Oh, New Zealand, I’m sorry that they couldn’t make it. 😦

      Yes, it’s important to try to speak languages when we want to become good speakers, however, learners in Japan tend to focus on only tests whose contents are multiple choice. 😦

      I have to say thank you for giving chances to communicate in English.

  2. June 30, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    You’re welcome. 🙂

    Japan played very well yesterday, even though they didn’t make it.

    Now all my teams are out. Ah well. 😆

    • honeypotter
      July 9, 2010 at 3:23 am

      Yes, I think so. 😀 Unfortunately, all my team are out, too 😦

      I guess Span will come. What do you think?

  3. July 9, 2010 at 2:35 pm

    Goooooooooooooooooooooooal Spain!! 😆

    • honeypotter
      July 12, 2010 at 6:04 pm

      Did you watch the final game? Your prediction was right! 😆 It was a good game, wasn’t it?

  4. July 13, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    Missed it. Had something else to do, but I’ll catch the highlight reel.

    I hope they, FIFA, introduce technology that’ll have them showing replay on a referee’s call. Same thing last World Cup, some mistakes were made.

    • honeypotter
      July 30, 2010 at 12:53 am

      Hello, girlgeum! It’s been a long time. I’m so sorry I was late to reply to you. 😦

      There’s no unfair but exciting sports more than soccer. Even referees must run as long as player do. But weaker teams can beat stronger ones. That’s what people get excited.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

