Home > Japanese Culture > Two celebrities exuded an aura

Two celebrities exuded an aura

I had a happy time in Tokyo last weekend. Let me show you a topic when I met two celebrities.

I’ve wanted to visit one cafe in Akihabara. Akihabara is the place where many foreigners and Japanese who love animations gather. Akihabara Gundam Cafe&Bar is where I went.

Did you remember the article I wrote about GUNDAM whose life sized figure used to be built in Tokyo? Here, it is. Even now people love, ofcourse including me, this old animation, GUNDAM.

This time, finally, I had a chance to drop by the cafe.

The appearance is white, which reminds you of GUNDAM.
null

GUNDAM welcomes you from above when you enter the cafe.
null

You can see a lot of figures of Gundam in the cafe, and enjoy watching films and autographs of people related to Gundam, such as animaters.
null

I chose this dish named “the white one of Federation.”
null

Actually, I didn’t want to drink any of alcohol, however, there were no alcohol-free beverages named after something about GUNDAM. This was what I selected. “Red Comet,” is the nickname characters gave Char Aznable in the animation. A hamburger from the Earth Federation and a drink from Zeon.
null

One of my subordinates is so hooked on GUMDAM. Every time I get on his car, he lets me hear many songs of GUNDAM. Incidentally, his car is red. lol I bought these souvenirs for him. You can see something round at the top. It’s Haro, a famous character in GUNDAM. I couldn’t help laughing the souvenir on the right side. It is “nanjakumono senbei.” senbei is one of traditional snacks which is baked and has hard texture. But this nanjakumono senbei has soft texture because it is nanjakumono. nanjakumono literally means “coward” and was used in the film of “the first GUNDAM.” In the film, Sayla Mass, Char’s younger sister, slapped Kay Shiden on his face and scoled him with her word; “nanjakumono!” These senbei are so soft like nanjakumono. However, it’s quite delicious.
null

Take a look at this photo. I saw two celebrities of GUNDAM. Char Aznable and Lalah Sune!
null

Char Aznable is, as I wrote above, one of the most famous and attractive characters of GUNDAM. His nickname, “Red Comet,” is originated from his mobile suits whose colors are red(except a few mobile suits). Lalah Sune is also one of important characters of GUNDAM. She had a gift and Char knew she could become a great pirot called “NewType.” He took her the theater and had her abitities waken up. Ironically, Lalah grew to be a newtype and met Amuro Ray, the pirot of GUNDAM. Lalah and Amuro, even though they were each enemy, started communicating with each other while fighting. At the right moment Amuro almost killed Char, Lalah intervened between Amuro and Char. Amuro’s beam saber penetrated the mobile armor she got on. Her existence had chained two heros and had had them struggled since she died.

You can see something gold on the table. They are gold blocks, which Char in the film sent Sayla so that she stepped down from the crews of White Base and lived peacefully. I said to Char, “Hey, that is…” Char smiled and said to me, “You know what? Great.” The toy of a white swan she is holding is the symbol of Lalah.

I asked two celebrities to introduce them in this blog. They gave me a permission to take a photo and upload it on this blog. Thank you so much, Char and Lalah.

One of clerks gave a salute to Char when he got out of the cafe; “Thank you for coming, colonel!” Ummm…that’s the celebrity! They seem to frequent the cafe. Oops, ofcourse they do because they are Char and Lalah.

I’ll introduce several films about Char, Lalah and Amuro.

It features a series of fights between Char and Amuro under the first war. You can see Lalah is dead.

Several years later, Char and Amuro fought again. They are rivals forever.

Around 1:50, you can see Char saying his famous phrase.

Thank you so much again, Char and Lalah. I had a special time because of you two.

Categories: Japanese Culture
  1. July 9, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    When my brother went to Japan a few years ago, he went to Akihabara. He said it was so cool.

    I saw it on The Fast and The Furious, Tokyo Drift. He gave me a Japanese Yen; I still have it. Sounds like you had a wonderful time.

    I don’t know what I’ll do if I saw some celebrities, probably just be myself.

    I know that Japan loves Gundam; I’ve read about that a lot in other blogs. Do you like Doraemon too?

    Space burgers and drinks. 🙂

    You sound just like a kid in a candy store. 🙂

    Have a nice weekend. 🙂

    • honeypotter
      July 12, 2010 at 6:02 pm

      Hi, girlgeum! How’s your weekend?

      Oh, your brother has been to Japan before? Many people from other countries were in Akihabara, especially Chinese. They think appliances made in Japan are worth buying. Now that such people have become one of the most important customers. 😀

      Doraemon is now something beyond “like or dislike” for Japanese, I think. It’s like air or water. Sazae-san is as well. 😀

  2. July 13, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    They think appliances made in Japan are worth buying. They’re not?

    • honeypotter
      July 30, 2010 at 12:55 am

      Yes, you’re absolutely right. I’m proud of appliances in Japan. They have extra features, though. 😀

  1. July 22, 2010 at 1:02 am

Leave a Reply

