Home > Japanese Culture > The nest is a lucky charm

The nest is a lucky charm

There are a lot of convenience stores in Japan and you can live comfortably due to them. I’ve recently fed up with their awful taste of bentou, though.

I saw something cute when I dropped by a convenience store. I’ll introduce it to you.

I found several traffic cones right in front of the store. I saw why they were placed. A couple of swallows nested under the eaves and were growing thier young.

null

It’s been a long time for me to see such a nest. In my region, it is said that nests of swallows are lucky. Swallows eat a lot of kinds of insects which are harmful to human, especially farmers. It is also said that no swallows nest in house which is likely to fire. It means, they say swallows tend to nest on houses which the residents keep tidy. The owner of the store know such superstitions enough and believe in them.

They also say that it is going to rain when swallows fly lower. I don’t know why, but I guess insects are prone to fly lower on the ground when it is going to rain, and swallows fly either in order to catch them.

“It’s quite nostalgic but… they must carpet-bomb their shits on the ground…that’s why the owner isolated the space with traffic cones.” thinking like that, I looked down at the ground…I was right. lol

null

The owner of the store must clean up the ground with a mop or something frequently, hoping his/her success on business.

Categories: Japanese Culture
  1. July 11, 2010 at 2:27 am

    How cure!!! Swallow families make us smile, but their feces……oh,no, we shouldn’t bleme them, they are sacred enough:o)

    • honeypotter
      July 12, 2010 at 6:08 pm

      Hi, Shiba, So glad you left your comment in this blog. Thank you so much. 😀

      I couldn’t help smiling at the swallows. So cute, aren’t they? But feces…yeah, that is the only one which is bothering people. By the way, thanks. I’ve never known the word “feces.” 😀

  2. July 26, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    Just stopping by to say hi. 🙂 How are you?

    Hope all is well.

    • honeypotter
      July 30, 2010 at 12:57 am

      I’m sorryyyyyyyyyyy! I’m back!!! 😀 Thank you for your concern. I’m O.K. now. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

