Home > My diaries > Japanese traditional clothes

Japanese traditional clothes

Now that many Japanese, especially the adult, don’t have chances to put on yukata, which is one of kimono, in their ordinary life so much. On the contrary, the young often prefer to put on yukata when they have a date, such as the one at the displays of fireworks.

Me, I don’t have any yukata, I mean I used to, but as I wrote before, I need the one. My mother told me that I could put on my father’s one and she brought several yukata from the drawer. Ummm…I can smell something mingled clothes itself and insect repellents. The father’s yukata had kept in the drawer for over twenty years without being used. That’s the secret of the smell. lol

Actually, we have proper and traditional ways to put on kimono and many Japanese these days don’t know how to put it on. There are many classes to teach how to put on kimono in Japan. We call such classes kitsuke kyoushitu. kitsuke means “how to put on kimono” and kyoushitu does “class.”

I have a student who wants to learn English from me and she is a beautician. She also teaches how to put on kimono. I just asked her to help me with kimono.

“Ummm… We have a problem.” said she, looking over the kimono my mother brought. It was old that something yellow stained around the neck. “I think you should go to the cleaners. And…I wonder if it would fit you. Just try it on.” said she.

Oh…I have longer legs than my father’s. I should thank my parents for my figure. lol The length of father’s yukata was quite short that I definitely looked like the famous character of the Japanese legendary comedy manga, BAKABON.

It’s him.
null

I just imagined myself like this. Ummm…Idealism and realism are never the same. I think I must know myself. lol
null

Ummm… I think I should buy the new one.

Categories: My diaries
  1. August 2, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    Hi H.P. 🙂

    How are you?

    I think you should buy a new one too; you don’t want to stick out like a sore thumb.

    They only wear kimonos on special occasions; it’s now preferred western wear right?

    This question may sound like it came out of left field, but what do you think about Junichiro Koizumi?

    • honeypotter
      August 5, 2010 at 12:08 pm

      Hi, girlgeum! 😀

      Fortunately, one of my friends told me I can try the one which she has. I’ll buy the new one after trying it. 😀

      What I think about Junichiro Koizumi…it’s a difficult question. On the respect to his ways to let the people know, they are quite simple and understanding. However, he looked he often accepted America’s proposals easily.

  2. August 5, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    It’s me H.P., girlgeum.

    I was reading up on him, and that’s why I asked.

    My new blog with an entry about Mr. Koizumi and the state of choosing a Japanese Prime Minister.

    http://aisawest.wordpress.com/2010/08/03/a-pageant/

    Kimonos are expensive right?

    • honeypotter
      August 7, 2010 at 12:06 am

      Hi, girlgeum! 😀

      Oh, you have another blog? O.K. I’ll read it and leave my comment after a while.

      kimono is quite expensive. Ofcourse it depends on grades. yukata is affordable. And it’s complicated to put it on. I have to learn how to. 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

