Home > Japanese Culture > His waves can blow off sweltering days

His waves can blow off sweltering days

sensu turned our prince on
I just dropped by my sister’s so that I wanted to rehearse what I am going to play at a off-meeting with my friends on the Internet. I brought one sensu there, which was nessesary for the rehearsal.

sensu is…a paper fan? Japanese fan? You can blow by waving sensu.

Here, it is.
null
null

You can close and open it whenever you want. On the contrary, uchiwa is a flat-papered fan, so you can’t fold it.

Here, it is.
null

You can enjoy the slapped sound when you open or fold sensu. This time, the sound made my nephew excited. Every time I made the sound, he showed his strange face in curiosity. He robbed my sensu from me and tried to create the sound. Have you ever used sensu before? You have to use your thumb and forefinger effectively in order to open your sensu. It might be an adequate expression to slide aside some of skeletal sticks with your thumb and forefinger. Unfortunately, my nephew couldn’t do that. He tried to open sensu, literally “pull both sides of sensu with his both hands”, with his all might. Some squeaking sound from sticks of sensu had appeared instead of the slapped sound. That made him more excited. Finally, he achieved. With the sound, he got crazy and reported what he’s done to his father and mother.

Incidentally, the sensu above has another name; suehiro. Look at the shape, you can see the top of the sensu is wider. suehiro has a meaning of “wider(getting happier).” The number “EIGHT” in Chinese character is also suehiro(suehirogari), which looks like a mountain. Mountains have wide foot like Mt.Fuji, don’t they? Wide foot shows spreading happiness in Japan.
null

That indicates you are single
My sister just invited her friend who has lived in America before so that I could gather many impressions through the rehearsal. Something which shows we(I mean, her friend and I) are single happened after the rehearsal.

Looking at the baby crawling and walking, he and I noticed the tag on the baby’s clothes. “Hey, he put on his clothes wrong side out!” He and I said.

“We did it on purpose, which means,” my sister said to us, “babies’ skin is so sensitive that we protect them from itching by putting clothes wrong side out. Didn’t you know? Ah, you guys are signle. Not strange that you didn’t know.”

Ummm… I learned a new thing, but I don’t know when the new knowledge will help me. lol

Categories: Japanese Culture
  1. August 8, 2010 at 9:01 am

    Hi Nori,

    It was so interesting experience for me to hear Rakugo in English. I was surprised to see how talented you are of entertaining. Yeah it was funny that only we didn’t know the “Tag” issue. The world seems to be filled with things we don’t know.

    I took a glance at your posts and came up with introducing this to my friend, “Japan addict” Robert. Would you mind?

    • honeypotter
      August 8, 2010 at 10:23 pm

      Hi, cozy! I’m so glad I saw you. And thanks for your comment!(Sorry, cozy, I just deleted just two letters from your comment. I appreciate you already found where it was and why I did. 😦 )

      “Tag” on the clothes for babies! I just questioned my friend who is also single but has nephews and nieces about this tag. The answer is…we should have known it. 😆

      Oh, Robert? Yes, ofcourse! Please say hello to him.

  2. August 9, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    Hi H.P. 🙂

    How are you?

    Babies are so impressionable.

    I don’t like tags sometimes; they itch.

    • honeypotter
      August 10, 2010 at 2:41 am

      Hi, girlgeum! 😀

      You don’t like? Me, neither. So I sometimes cut the tag. I never get bored with babies. I wish I could have a baby someday. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

