Home > My diaries > Every little thing in my ordinary life 28

Every little thing in my ordinary life 28

My student has come back
As I said before, I have a student, who is in the beauty business. She was in N.Y. for her work. Before she left Japan, I taught many phrases which can be used during her trip. I asked her how she went well in N.Y. after she came back.

‘The phrases you gave me were so useful. But the problem was I could hardly understand whay they are saying after I said something to them.’

As a matter of fact, she mailed me a few times while staying in N.Y., and reported her situations to me. The mail said the same thing. As the season 2, we’ve started a new program in order to improve her listening skills.

She had two tasks during her trip. One was to make up one bride and the relatives, and the other was to make up models appearing on a photo session. She told me the tasks were so tough because she had to do everything without her assistants, but things went well. Several accidents were happned, though. After the talk, she said to me, ‘They said they will not have the sessions in February.’ Oh, my Gosh, it means, I’ve lost my opportunity to go to N.Y. with her.

After that, we talked about how we(I mean, she) could get another offer from her clients oversea.

To say I love you. Where?
One day, I received a mail from my old friend. The mail said he wanted to know a good place like seashore on which you could enjoy sunset. The following sentences in his mail continued like this; ‘I’m in love with a woman. She is much older than me.’ Surprisingly, the woman is 18 years older than him.

‘Should I say… good for you? Anyway, being in love is good. Yeah, we have many places for a date. You can say you love her anywhere I tell.’

I hope he makes it.

Present perfect… a kind of tense?
I’ve been struggling with present perfect. I guess present perfect and present perfect continous are the most confusing part among Japanese English learners. My impression for them is, maybe I might be wrong, ’emphasis of status or actions.’ Ummm…I must dig them more. I think I should call them a kind of tense, by the way?

Categories: My diaries
  1. September 21, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    Speaking is one thing, but understanding is another. That’ll make for good conversation. Sorry to hear about her lost opportunity.

    I forgot your birthday; this month or next?

    Taken from Wikipedia

    English

    The English present tense can be combined with aspects in the following verbal constructions:

    * present simple or simple present, which is used in several ways:

    * to describe both habits and or routines (habitual aspect) (I eat breakfast every morning at 6:30. I go to work every day), and general facts or the truth (The earth revolves around the sun);

    * to present thoughts, feelings, and other unchanging states (stative aspect) (I think so, I like it, It is hot, The sun always shines in the desert);

    * to indicate scheduled events in the near future (so that the simple “present” verb form actually indicates future tense) (I take the train tomorrow at 6:00);

    * to indicate events at any time in the future in a dependent clause (I’ll retire when I reach age 65);

    * to provide narratives such as instructional narratives (Now I mix the ingredients; now I put the pan in the oven).

    In the present simple, English uses the verb without an ending (I get the lunch ready at one o’clock, usually.) except that in the third person singular, (after he, she, it, your friend etc.) the suffix -s or -es is appended to the verb ( It gets busy on the weekends. Sarah catches the early train.)

    The present simple tense is very often used with adverbs of repeated time,as in these examples with the adverbs shown in italics:

    * – I always come to school by cycle.
    * – She frequently arrives here before me.
    * – He never forgets to do his homework.
    * – I often catch the late bus home.

    http://www.englishclub.com/grammar/verb-tenses_present.htm

    Hope they help. 🙂

    • honeypotter
      September 24, 2010 at 1:22 am

      Thank you sooooooooooo much, girlgeum!

      I held a lesson about the present perfect last Wednesday. It was so tough. I’m going to have the same lesson next Wednesday. I’ll study it with this page and try to write an article.

      • September 27, 2010 at 2:35 pm

        All the best. Ganbatte! 🙂

  2. honeypotter
    October 1, 2010 at 2:33 am

    Arigatou, girlgeum. 😀

    Itsumo comments ureshiidesu (You always give me your comments. That makes me happy.) 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

