Home > My ideas > Do I need to be a telepathist?

Do I need to be a telepathist?

Have you ever heard ‘speaker talk’ or ‘listener talk’? In ‘speaker talk’, Speakers are the ones who have to express their ideas in detail and listeners don’t need to read between the lines so much. On the contrary, in ‘listener talk’, listners have to know what speakers are saying or writing even though speakers’ explanations are not enough. It is said that English is ‘speaker talk’ and Japanese is ‘listener talk’. I’ve been thinking that I have to thank all readers of this blog. My English writing is so ambiguous that it is so difficult and confusing to understand my ideas in this blog.

Sometimes people demand me to understand what they are feeling even though they don’t express what they feel or what they are trying to say at all. Even between someone special, it is so difficult to know what he/she thinks or feels. Maybe do I need to be a telepathist or something?

We don’t live in a world like MATRIX or AVATAR. As long as we live in the world(as long as we are individuals who don’t have any exact ways to transfer their thoughts except linguistic communications), we have to find it difficult to communicate with each other. It is more difficult to communicate with people living in other countries. Confrontations might happen because of differences on cultures or backgrounds. I have ever experienced the difficulty before. Without expressing your ideas, you no longer let someone know them.

Categories: My ideas
  1. October 6, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    Hi H.P. 🙂

    How are you?

    Express yourself. I might not agree with you, but you have the right to tell me what you think and how you feel without me trying to read between the lines. That’s how it should be.

    Sometimes when I watch some Japanese shows, programs, or the news, I get the feeling that they’re not at “ease” with their words, as if fearing saying the wrong things.

    • honeypotter
      October 20, 2010 at 12:45 am

      Hello, girlgeum! I’m so sorry I’m late to reply to you.

      Sometimes I come into conflict with my friends because I say something too much. On the other hand, many Japanese often expect too much from others. It means, they expect others to understand what they think without explaining enough. 😦

  2. October 20, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    Well that’s not fair, is it?

    Hope you’re okay. 🙂

    • honeypotter
      October 23, 2010 at 4:47 pm

      Hi, girlgeum, how’s your weekend? You said you are super busy. So, am I. :^(

      >That’s not fair, is it?

      Which one? Expecting too much from others without saying anything?

  3. October 26, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    They expect you to know when they themselves aren’t saying. We’re not mind readers.

    • honeypotter
      October 29, 2010 at 1:19 am

      Hi, girlgeum. 😀

      >They expect you to know…

      They do too much, girlgeum, the people I referred to in my post. 😦

      I am Japanese and I believe I’m good at Japanese, but sometimes I find it difficult to read between the lines. lol

  4. November 1, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    I think it’s like that all over. There’s a song I love to listen to call, Can You Read My Mind,

    The answers is no. But is it a “it depends situation”?

    • honeypotter
      November 5, 2010 at 12:00 am

      Yes. Depends on. Sometimes I say to myself ‘Please read my mind’, like the song you gave me. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

