Home > My diaries > I have no editorial talent

I have no editorial talent

“Could you edit a film and give it to me?” one of my friends asked me. She teaches English and is planning to give her students some chance to copy dialogues in movies and play the roles.

My Neighbor Totoro was the one she chose. At first, I asked her to select the scenes that she wanted her students to play. Her directions said that I had to prepare several images and videos for the film. The students was going to narrate lines in the parts of the images and was going to simulate the dialogues in the part of the videos.

Looking at the directions, I connected my DVD player and my computer, and recorded several scenes that she wanted. You see there’s no motions in the photo, only a black screen in the middle of the image, but you are capable of recording any scenes you want with this software.
null

After that, I pulled out the DVD from the player, and put it into my computer so that I was able to obtain several screenshots from the movie. They were all the images and videos before I started editing films.
null

Dividing films into video pictures and sounds were the next step in order to edit the sounds. I always use “audacity”, the useful software to me. I deleted several sounds at which she wanted the students to speak and added some background music, sometimes amplified the volume. After adjusting the balance, I had to sychronize the video pictures and the sounds again. Incidentally, there are some differences between the wave shapes while speaking Japanese and the ones while speaking English.
null

Finally, you have to boot ‘movie maker’ or other software, and start editing.
null

I put images on the time line in accordance with her directions, and added several effects between images. After that, I installed each background music for each image. Her directions said that I had to add English subtitles in the videos. Actually, these subtitles became the most bothering task to me. I hadn’t known it yet at that time.

I finished editing the film and mailed it as a trial one to her. I received several points to change from her. Turning down the BGM slightly, etc. The tough time to me had begun. She asked me to make the time of each image longer, so I added one second for each image respectively and longthened the time. This work made me down. By making the time longer, the next images were forced to slide aside. On the contrary, the sounds or music would never move unless I operated them. As I said before, I had to synchronize the video pictures and the sounds. Additionally, the subtitles were what I had to synchronize as well. I was shocked that the motions of characters and the sounds and the subtitles definitely didn’t match. I felt that what I had done went down the drain. I started adjusting them from scratch. Finally, I added the end-title roll and finished. I hope that she would be glad and that she could use it effectively.

This is a film I made. Of course I omitted the roll. Maybe this YouTube film will be deleted by Studio Ghibli because Studio Ghibli is strict about copyrights.

Categories: My diaries
  1. November 25, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    The clip was heartwarming.

    Editing takes a lot of patience.

    • honeypotter
      November 25, 2010 at 3:54 pm

      Hello, girlgeum! 😀

      Yes, exactly. It’s so laborious that I nearly gave up. 😦

  2. Kaoru
    November 26, 2010 at 8:58 am

    This was an interesting article. I have always wondered how people do this — and now I know!

    Thank you!

    By the way, I discovered in another section that you have Skype, and I’ve sent you a message. Is that okay? Hope to chat with you soon!

    • honeypotter
      November 26, 2010 at 12:26 pm

      Hello, Kaoru, thank you for visiting my site and leaving your comment.

      It seems that my post became quite useful to you. I’m so glad to hear that. 😀

      Yes, I have an account on Skype; honeypotter1974(HoneyPotter). Have you already sent your message to me? I checked it but there was nothing. 😦 I’m waiting for it.

      Anyway, I’m so glad that you came here and obtained something new from my blog. I hope you drop by again.

      Have a good weekend.

      Honey Potter

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

