Home > My diaries > Congrats, my friend

Congrats, my friend

I received a phone call from one of my friends whose wife is Philippina. He told me that he had finally obtained the certificate of status of residence. Two and a half years has passed, but he didn’t give up and made it.

Getting the certificate(we often call it visa in general) in Japan is becoming harder, especially for people coming from Southeast Asia. Additionally, his wife had a big problem, which meant that she used to overstay her visa and that she was arrested and that she was deported. The immigration law in Japan can prohibit foreigners who have violated laws from landing in Japan for at least five years. However, we are able to ask special permission for the Minister of Justice, depending the situation. With the permission, we are able to shorten the term. It sounds easy to obtain the permission, but it’s actually tough and difficult. This time, my friend had finally accomplished this extremely laborious and complicated issue. Now that his wife has lawfully become able to come to Japan.

His call made me so excited. Actually, I felt something welling in my eyes while talking with him. I know many people under the same situation came to give up. He didn’t. He has been keeping his feeling and standing tall, which shows he loves her. So has his wife.

I really want to celebrate him. I do know the difficulty. Congratulations, my friend.

Categories: My diaries
  1. November 26, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    Love conquers adversity. 🙂

    Over here it’s also the same. Quite difficult when it comes to immigration matters.

    Have a nice weekend. 🙂

    Hope all goes well with the grand assembly.

    • honeypotter
      November 28, 2010 at 5:06 pm

      Hello, girlgeum, how’s your weekend? 😀

      Although most people in Japan have realized that we need human resources from other countries, it doesn’t mean anybody may come. It’s quite difficult to maintain the balance. 😦

      This time, I don’t know how many times he had visited the immigration bureau in order to submit the applications. He took a bunch of photograhs showing their relationship, copied all the longs on Skype, kept all their envelopes so that he became able to prove their relationship. ‘The first step is let the officer realize you are a frequent visitor’ was my first advice for him. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

