Home > My ideas > What if I were her?

What if I were her?

I like watching movies. I know it would be far more effective for learning English to read or listen to shorter topics, such as news, interviews or something. I must say that it is my hobby. After I just watch the movies, I check the words in the movies with my dictionary that I don’t think I am able to use them naturally. I keep watching the movie until I finish checking words used in another movie. ‘You’ve Got Mail’ is the movie that I have been watching recently. I don’t know how many times I have watched it. Incidentally, ‘Toy Story’ is the movie from which I’ve been checking the expressions.

I’m not sure whether I already explained the story of the movie before. It is an old movie in 1998. There was no such faster network systems those days, like fiber optics. You might feel nostalgic hearing the sound connecting the lines. A male and a female corresponded with each other by e-mail without knowing they were opponents on their own business. The man’s huge capital had eliminated the woman’s small book store. After several things happened, the man tried to be her good friend pretending not to be the person with whom she communicated on line. At the last scene, Joe came to see her in person as the person.

If I were the woman in the movie, Meg Ryan, I might refuse to him, Joe Fox, the man who had a big company. He often said in the movie, ‘It’s not personal, it’s business’. I know why he was saying. Also, I know why she said when Joe visited her apartment to cheer up; ‘It was personal to me. It was personal to a lot of people. What is so wrong with being personal? Whatever else anything is, it ought to begin by being personal’.

Being able to forgive or forget terrible things might possibly be one of wonderful skills of human being. Maybe Kathleen might become a great author of children’s books after they started their new relationship. It was the truth that she closed her shop, the memorable shop.

Maybe I am a narrow-minded person. It’s an interesting movie, though.

Categories: My ideas
  1. December 23, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    I think conflicts in relationships like these is what makes love even stronger.

    How’s your eye?

    Hope all is well. 🙂

    • honeypotter
      December 24, 2010 at 2:03 am

      Helloooooooo, girlgeum!!! How have you been doing? I’m so glad that you’re fine. 🙂

      Ohhhh, the situation is able to make love grow. It reminds me of Romeo and Juliet.

      My eye is getting better. I’m going to see the docter today. Thank you, girlgeum, for your concern.

      Merry Christmas, girlgeum. I’m looking forward to chatting with you again. I hope it would happen this year.. 🙂

  2. December 24, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    Hope your eyes be okay.

    Romeo and Juliet ended tragically, don’t want that. I prefer Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.

    • honeypotter
      December 26, 2010 at 1:39 am

      Pride and Prejudice! I saw the title in You’ve Got Mail. Is it…famous?(Sorry, I’m a bit unfamiliar with literature) Meg Ryan said in the movie that it’s worth reading. You think, so? If so, I’ll read it. 🙂

  3. December 31, 2010 at 11:46 pm

    Yes, it’s worth reading. I think Mr. Darcy’s my ideal guy, well some of his qualities. Read it. One of my favorite novels.

    • honeypotter
      January 8, 2011 at 2:22 am

      Oh, Mr.Darcy! I’ve heard of his name in ‘You’ve got mail’. Elizabeth? Okay, I promise. I’ll read it after several books I’m going to read. I read so slowly that it needs much time, though. 😦

      • January 10, 2011 at 2:49 pm

        Read at your leisure and pace. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

