Home > Japanese Culture > I must say this article is KASU – a definition of kasu –

I must say this article is KASU – a definition of kasu –

As you know, users of wordpress are able to know words with which you found blogs, called search words. I often check the words and find that someone seems interested in one Japanese word, ‘kasu‘. This time, I’ll write an article regarding the word, ‘kasu‘.

Words have been changing day by day. Although people start using the words in approving ways at first, the words might be used in disapproving or insulting ways afterward. The word ‘kasu‘, also has both meanings.

the origin
The word, kasu, was originated from a procedure; an extra substance or an impurity which are left over after main ingredients are milked out of materials. They are not always useless. For example, sake kasu is used for cooking.

This is an image of sake kasu.
null

ordinary usage
You can see the word kasu in your ordinary life. The usage is not so dissaproving. By connecting to other words like a prefix, you can use the word kasu in a neutral way. Let me show some example.

These are photos when I dropped by Macdonald’s. I just ordered a quarter pounder with a coke and fried potatoes.

Before I ate them…
null

After I ate them…
null

You can see several particles left in the box of fried potatoes. They are called ‘kasu‘. Please imagine the situation in which you have the particles around your mouth after you munched the fried potatoes. You mother or friends might say in Japanese, ‘tabekasu tuiteru yo‘. The word tabekasu in this expression can be divided into ‘tabe‘(means ‘eat’ ‘food’ etc.) and ‘kasu‘.

There is some difference on a nuance between tabe nokoshi and tabe kasu. tabe nokoshi sounds like it’s close to ‘left-over’, which means it’s possible for you to eat it afterward. On the other hand, tabe kasu sounds like it already becomes a food debris, which means you no longer eat it.

Have you ever watched a movie, ‘BIG’? I love BIG. In the movie, Tom Hanks acted a good guy with a child’s heart. During a date with a woman, Tom pointed out that she had a dash of mustard around her mouth. Maybe you might be able to use ‘kasu‘ in this case. However, I don’t think it is a proper way because I usually associate solid materials with kasu, not paste things like mustard.
null

insulting usage
You can use the word kasu in an obnoxious way. The usage comes from the meaning ‘useless’. People often add the word kasu at the end of sentences like this; ‘damare kasu‘(Shut the fuck up!) ‘daredayo kono kasu‘(Who the fuck are you?) I believe this is the first time I have used the F-word in this blog. lol

I just thought this offensive usage is old-fashioned, however, I often see it recently, especially on the Internet. People on the Internet often abbreviate the word ‘kasu‘ as ‘ks’.

Take a look at the image. I just took it at the most famous bulletin board on the Internet in Japan, ‘2 channel’.
null

It might be beneficial for you to learn this phrase, ‘gugure kasu‘(means, google it by yourself). When you ask someone to teach something again and again, he/she might say the phrase in a disgusting tone.

At the end of this journal, let me introduce you a famous scene in which the word kasu is used. You might remember the scene if you were a frequent reader of this blog.

Incidentally, this article is not so educational but just trivial. It should be useless, yes, totally kasu to your Japanese exams.

Categories: Japanese Culture
  1. December 24, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    You wrote the above article and then summed it up in your last line. What do I think? Hmm.

    “Have yourself a merry little Christmas.”

    We call the fried potatoes french fries. In England they call them chips.

    • honeypotter
      December 26, 2010 at 1:35 am

      Hello, girlgeum, how’s your Christmas? Us, in Japan, it’s already ended. 🙂

      Yes, I just posted similar sentences both in the title and at the ending. Incidentally, ‘I must say they are KASU‘ I already used it as the title in my previous article. 😉

      Oh, french fries! I just forgot it!

      What did you have on Christmas Day for dinner?

  2. December 31, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    Roasted turkey, Baked macaroni, cole slaw, brown/white rice, cakes, lots. I think I added on a few pounds. 😆

    And you?

    • honeypotter
      January 8, 2011 at 2:27 am

      Ohhhh, what a belated comment I have! I’m so sorry, girlgeum. 😦

      My Christmas party was held in front of my computer. I put on my Santa’s costume again and shared a champagne toast. 🙂

      • January 10, 2011 at 2:51 pm

        Sounds depressive. Unless you shared it with others in front of their computers.

        Christmas went by too fast.

  3. honeypotter
    January 11, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    Oh, yeah, I did it with my friend through the monitor. 🙂

    It’s already January 10th. Time flies. 😦

  4. January 12, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    I know.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

