Home > My diaries > Every little thing in my ordinary life 41

Every little thing in my ordinary life 41

From scratch
I had a RAKUGO lesson last Saturday. I already finished writing my script as I said before, however, my teacher didn’t like it. According to him, my script wasn’t RAKUGO at all. After the lesson, I watched a lot of RAKUGO storytellings on YouTube for a few days so that I became able to catch what the teacher was trying to say to me. I didn’t comprehend it at first. I just thought all I had to do was just add funny but sometimes trivial topics. The problem on my way is that audiences probably find it difficult to understand the story itself.

I revised my script and made it simple. I just added common conversations or some small talk into the story instead. The teacher read the script and became satisfied with it.

Japanese customs I haven’t known
Did you remember my colleague is a member of JCI? JCI has a lot of chapters nationwide. Each chapter also holds parties to celebrate the new year. Members exchange each business card and greet each other.

‘Just help me with a ton of thank-you letters,’ my colleague said to me. ‘Entering all the guests’s addresses into the software, printing them on the letters, pressing each stamp on each letter, and put thank-you cards into the envelopes. They’re what I must do. The problem is…I need today’s postmarks on all the letters!’ It was 6:30 in the evening. ‘Hey, it’s impossible! The post office closes at 8:30!’ said I. ‘Don’t give up! We can make it!’ said he. Wondering when his task had became my task, I just started helping with his tasks.

While my friend was entering guests’ addresses into his computer, my subordinate and I were putting stamps on the envelopes. He bought a lot of sheets of stamps in advance. They were not common ones, but seasonal and special ones. No difference on the prices between them, though.

‘How come you didn’t buy ordinary stamps? It’s a bit laborious to separate stamps from sheets.’ I just asked. He told me that you needed to put such seasonal and special stamps on envelopes when you sent someone special letters, such as thank-you letters or invitations. ‘Then, would I need to put such special stamps on envelopes if I sent my wedding invitations to my guests?’ asked I. ‘Some guests should think that you know what being polite is all about. Oh, watch out how to put. You must put stamp along the edge of the envelope, horizontally and vertically.’ he answered. Actually, my subordinate was not good at the task. She sometimes put stamps leaning a little to left.

Unfortunately, my friend wasn’t able to meet the deadline. He sent them at the following day.

Categories: My diaries
  1. January 21, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Hi H.P. 🙂

    Revised, reedit, and now, satisfied. Good. Are you comfortable with your scripts?

    We learn new things about our cultures everyday.

    Enjoy your weekend. 🙂

    • honeypotter
      January 24, 2011 at 2:41 am

      Hi, girlgeum! How was your weekend?

      Yes. All I have to do now is just practice. I’ll record myself playing RAKUGO, and will revise it again and again. 🙂

  2. January 24, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    Another great weekend. Two in a row. Woot! Woot! 😆

    And yours?

    • honeypotter
      January 25, 2011 at 4:49 am

      Ohhh, good for you. 😀

      Me, I had two meeting and one lesson on Saturday, though, I relaxed too much. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

