Home > Japanese Culture > Auspicious numbers can bring ambitious goals

Auspicious numbers can bring ambitious goals

What’s your lucky number in your country? What’s your jinxed number in your country?

Lucky numbers in Japan
Popular numbers as the lucky ones in Japan are probably seven and eight. I think the number ‘7’ is the lucky number in the western countries as well. I just googled and found it was derived from the happening in the 7th inning when Chicago Cubs won the pennant. We have several words, expressions, or names related to the number ‘7’, such as shichihukujin(the Seven Gods of Good Fortune) or haru no nanakusa(seven spring herbs).

Japanese also treat the number ‘8’ as the lucky number. Let me show you one of the reasons. Please take a look at the kanji of the number ‘8’.
null

See? You can see it widening toward the end. It is called in Japanese, sue hirogari, which includes a meaning, ‘becoming prosperous, bright future, etc.’. The number ‘8’ is also used in a lot of symbolized words; ‘perfection, all directions, encompassing completely, etc.’.

Let me show several examples. Maybe I’m wrongly translating these words into English. If so, I’m sorry.
null

By the way, I think the number ‘7’ and ‘8’ are on good terms. Do you play musical instruments? Have you ever heard of the word ‘leading tone(note)’? I’m not so sure, but the 7th tone(B) can lead to the 8th tone(C). Wouldn’t it be natural when you hear chord ‘G’ turning chord ‘C’?(from ‘G7’ to ‘C’ would be much better)

On the contrary, there is a phrase like ‘the seventh sign'(I just remembered ‘Yngwie Malmsteen’ and ‘IRON MAIDEN’). Sorry, I have not learned about it deeply yet.

At the following article on Saturday, I’m going to write jinxed numbers in Japan. Please don’t miss it.

Categories: Japanese Culture
  1. February 7, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    In the west, some people look at the number 13 as a bad omen. I really don’t care what number it is; doesn’t bother me.

    • honeypotter
      February 10, 2011 at 8:21 am

      Oh, Friday the 13th. I know of it, girlgeum. 🙂 Personally, me, neither. 🙂

      Speaking of Friday the 13th, I think the first movie is the best. 🙂

  2. February 14, 2011 at 11:57 am

    Yes, they ran on and on and on. They had him with Freddy Kruger, you know the guy from Nightmare on Elm Street.

    For some reason I feel like watching Beverly Hills Cop part 1

    • honeypotter
      February 14, 2011 at 5:10 pm

      Yes, I know Freddy! I like(?) him. As for the movie ‘Nightmare on Elm Street’, I like the second one. Jason vs Freddy, it was not so interesting. 😦

      Ohhhh, Beverly Hills Cop, you like the first? Me, I think the second story is the best. I forgot his name…the young man, who had changed his character at the second movie because of Eddie Marphy. He’s so funny. You can see Sylvester Stallone’s poster(acted in a movie ‘Cobra’) on the door in his room. 🙂

      How about a series of ‘Alien’? I like the second one.

  3. February 15, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    I watched Cobra. Mr. Stallone was smooth in that.

    Det. Billy Rosewood, I think. Yeah, he became a whole different person. Influence.

    I saw that one and and the third.

    • honeypotter
      February 16, 2011 at 5:12 am

      Yes, Billy! He had several shotguns in his car at the second movie, and he wore sunglasses like Cobra. 😆 Ohh, I feel like watching the series of the movies again.

      I have a soundtrack of the second movie, by the way. I like ‘Be There’ by Pointer Sisters. 🙂

  4. February 16, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    Love the soundtrack too. It made the movie flow. Both movies had nice songs.

    Enjoy. 🙂

    • honeypotter
      February 17, 2011 at 6:11 pm

      Yes. 🙂 I also have another soundtrack, such as TOP GUN or FOOTLOOSE. They are so good. 😉

  5. February 18, 2011 at 9:54 am

    Played footloose yesterday. Kenny Loggins’ song Danger Zone is also on the Top Gun soundtrack. Otis Redding, love his voice and some of his music. Berlin with Take My Breath Away. Music is the best. 🙂

    • honeypotter
      February 21, 2011 at 4:01 am

      Yes, that’s right. Kenny also sings the theme song of TOP GUN. Berlin’s song(Take MY Breath Away) is also romantic. 🙂 Soundtracks in 80’s are all good. I love movies in 80’s. 🙂

  6. February 21, 2011 at 10:15 am

    Yep, some awesome movies from that time. 🙂

    • honeypotter
      February 23, 2011 at 2:56 am

      You think so? I think we have the same taste in movies. 😉

      • February 24, 2011 at 11:27 am

        Yes we do. 🙂

        About your tweet, when do you give up loving someone who doesn’t love you back, who has never reciprocated that love?

  7. honeypotter
    February 26, 2011 at 8:02 am

    Ohhh, no, no, no, not me. I just tweeted about someone who got wrong. I was about to write about the person in my blog this weekend, but I wasn’t. Someday, I will.

    Love is blind. Love is pure. However, sometimes people misunderstand due to their own love that they have the right to BE LOVED. 😦

  8. February 28, 2011 at 10:28 am

    It’s HOW we love people that counts.

    God loves everyone no matter who they are, for us humans, that’s tough sometimes.

    • honeypotter
      March 2, 2011 at 12:20 am

      Love from God is not that complicated. It becomes more laborious when people become desperate to get love from others. Being in love sometimes turns into envy. Men’s logical ideas are blown off by his lyrical passion. 😦

  9. March 2, 2011 at 11:36 am

    So poetic. 🙂

    I agree with you.

    • honeypotter
      March 9, 2011 at 4:50 pm

      Wow, thank you so much, girlgeum. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

