Home > My diaries > Every little thing in my ordinary life 44

Every little thing in my ordinary life 44

I’m not an entertainer(oh, sounds like Britney’s song!)

If I still had my own band and I ran this blog for the band, I would let you know what the band’s schedules are so that many people are able to come and enjoy our play. If I wanted you to come and see me, I would show you the designated time or dates on the Internet. Of course I let you know what I’m going to do in person, by mail or by Skype as long as you are close to me. However, I’m afraid I can’t do it on the Internet, at least by my blog or else. I’m not a talent or something.

Why? Because I am not able to control them if unexpected people come to see me or unprecedented things happen to me.

How far are you going to let your readers know your personal information? It’s up to you to specify the line. It looks okay with me to let you know what I did. It also sounds no problem to let you know what I’m planning to do tentatively. What do you think of it?

I’m not saying you are wrong even if you have different ideas on this.

Jumping up and down
The lieutenant said in a movie ‘Aliens’, “Now, listen up.”
The song by the Fabulous Thunderbirds, ‘ Powerful Stuff'(one song of the Soundtrack ‘Cocktail’), it says in its lyrics, “she walks down the street.”
Nemo said to his friends at his first class in the movie, ‘Finding Nemo’, “Wait up!”

Personally, I think it is difficult for Japanese to use ‘up’ and ‘down’ while speaking English. There’s no such usages while talking in Japanese. Let me translate the sentences above into Japanese.

“Now, listen up” = like “iika, yoku kike“? (I would say ‘listen’)
“she walks down the street” = like “josei ga toori wo aruku“?(I would say ‘she walks on the street’)
“Wait up!” = like “matte!“?(I would say ‘wait!’)

I haven’t understood the differences of the nuances on ‘up’ and ‘down’ yet. I believe I haven’t used the two words in this blog yet, like I showed you as examples above. How do I learn the nuances?

Categories: My diaries
  1. February 18, 2011 at 9:52 am

    Hi. H.P. 🙂

    This is perhaps the only song by her that I love.

    When speaking English, don’t think like a Japanese, that is, don’t try to imitate speech patterns or words.

    How much info a person’s willing to place in the public domain or anywhere else is definitely up to them. You’re right. 🙂

    Enjoy your weekend. 🙂

    I played one of my Christmas CDs yesterday. Wonderful. 😆

    • honeypotter
      February 21, 2011 at 3:56 am

      Hi, girlgeum! I’m sorry I’m late to reply. I was in Tokyo this weekend. 🙂

      Oh, you like this song? Me, too. 🙂

      >don’t think like a Japanese…

      Yes, I do think so, but I guess it is the most difficult task for most of the Japanese. I know I have to do it, though.

      You played a song? How? You play some music instrument?

  2. February 21, 2011 at 10:12 am

    The instruments on the CD played it for me. 😆

    • honeypotter
      February 23, 2011 at 2:53 am

      Oh, I see. 🙂

      Recently, I played the guitar. It’s been a long time for me to do it since I resigned my band. My guitar technique has become terrible. lol

      • February 24, 2011 at 11:22 am

        I have a guitar; I don’t play it very well, never mind, well. 😆

  3. honeypotter
    February 26, 2011 at 7:54 am

    Cool, cool. 🙂 I’m wondering if I’ll be able to upload films someday in which I’m singing songs. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

