Home > Japanese Culture > Wedding parties in Japan

Wedding parties in Japan

I was in bad shape. Hmmm, I need to take a rest. 🙂

As I said at my previous article, I attended a wedding party. The party itself, as you already know, was good. It was typically tear-jerker(hmmm, sounds sarcastic? I totally didn’t mean it. I was so moved, touched, and amazed.)

How do wedding parties in your countries go? In Japan, we have a few types; Christian-style, Shinto-style, and others. It doesn’t matter what religions you have in Japan. We celebrate Christmas, look back what we did while ringing the bell at temples at the end of year, and make our wishes at shrines at the beginning of year. Even though you are a buddhist, you can choose Christian-style when you organize your own wedding party.

I saw a Shinto-style wedding party(correctly speaking, a Shinto-style wedding parade?) by chance at Meiji Jingu Shrine in Tokyo last August. It was so hot that I thought the bride might faint. Take a look at these photos. You can see a big bride’s head-dress? The brides have long dressed hair in the head-dress, which called bunkintakashimada. I felt so hot at the time even though I put on only a T-shirt. I wasn’t able to imagine how swealtering the inside of her head-dress was. I just worried she became dizzy and down by heat stroke.
null
null

My subordinate and his wife chose Cristian-style. This is the church they got married.
null

In front of a priest, they swore their eternal and unchanged love.
null
null

Generally, wedding parties in Japan consist of two parts; wedding ceremonies and parties. The former is called kekkon shiki, and the latter is called hirouen. Couples swear their love at wedding ceremonies and show attendees some events at parties. It costs too much, especially in my region. No wonder you have to pay 3 to 5 million yen for the party around here.

During the party, one of my friend was in charge of making a speech as a guest because he was the top of our company, and other friend gave a toast because he was the broom’s immediate superior. Asking who is going to make a speech and who is going to give a toast is bothering couples. Customs and hierarchical relations sometimes become complicated and laborious. So troublesome for me. To be honest, I don’t think it is necessary for me to organize such a big party. It would be better for me to hold just a ceremony.

It’s natural that the couple’s colleages or friends do something interesting during parties, such as a play or singing songs. Sometimes the event brings down the house, sometimes it makes all the attendees silent nervously. This time, the broom’s colleagues completely made everything disrupt. The footage that one of colleagues made was definitely cool, though. That is also what wedding parties are all about. lol

Anyway, about four hours had just flown by. The party was over. Attendees of wedding parties have to go home with commemorative goods which are called hikidemono. Some attendees went home with the goods, some attendees hit another place for the second party with the goods. The couple saw all the attendees at the main entrance of the hall giving a tiny gift.

‘I’m sure you two are going to build up a great relationship. Congratulations!’ With this greeting, I went to a place for a meeting.

Categories: Japanese Culture
  1. March 2, 2011 at 11:30 am

    You’re so funny. I enjoyed this. 🙂

    Weddings, well planing a wedding can give you a headache. Some just elope and call it a day, well a lifetime if they’re going to stay together.

    But getting married is a major event in two persons lives, unless you’re like the Japanese guy that married a female from a video game.

    I’ve only been to one wedding; although asked to go to others, I declined.

    I believed you had fun. 🙂

    I love reading about the different ways/traditions in which people from all over the world get married. So cool.

    • honeypotter
      March 9, 2011 at 4:42 pm

      Hello, girlgeum, how’s it goin’?

      I’m sorry I’m late to reply to your comment.

      Yes. I had fun at the party. I felt so happy seeing my subordinate and his wife. The wife is so beautiful on her wedding dress that I’m sure my subordinate was the top of the world. 🙂

      “It’s your turn.” every time I attend the party, anyone gives me such words. I don’t know when it comes to me. lol

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

