Home > My diaries > I need your help

I need your help

Let me show you several situations, expressions, or people. I would like to know how you would express them in English. I’m sure different cultures give each language distinct expressions, but give me your hand.

1. a way when you call a young lady, who is a wife to a president
ma’am in a conversational way?

2. a word whose meaning is similar to ‘problem’ but whose pronunciation is closer to ‘affair’
I would like to say such conversation with rhyming;
“Would it be okay with you even if something terrible happened to me after you leave here?” said A,
“Wouldn’t it become a terrible affair if I stay here?” said B.

3. a phrase, a proverb, etc. when you tell your friends to stop loving someone already married
Being in love with someone already married is likely to have no future. It’s like a rat running on racing wheels. Do you have a phrase that you can imply it?

4. an adjective, a noun, for a cheated husband
Simply, a stupid man?

I just wrote several questions tentatively. I guess the more I think of my script the better it becomes. I’m really happy that you help me.

Categories: My diaries
  1. April 4, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    1) Wife of a president is usually call a First Lady, but in a conversation I guess some say ma’am.

    2) Some do say when there’s an issue, “That indeed is a sad affair.” Meaning that indeed is a problem. If you have a thesaurus that’ll be helpful and also look up synonyms.

    3) Being in love with someone married is like having a thorn without the rose.

    4) Scumbag.

    I don’t feel like thinking, so I’ll get back to you on this.

    By the way hi H.P. 🙂

    Hope all is well.

    • honeypotter
      April 5, 2011 at 9:30 pm

      1) a First Lady. Is it okay with me to use it when she is a wife to a president(I mean, not a politician, but a leader to a company or something)?

      2) The phrase, “that indeed,” includes a meaning “a problem”? I haven’t seen it. But sadly, the sound of “that indeed” is not similar to “affair.” 😦

      3) Wowwww, not “a rose without a thorn”? I just googled it and found it from a lyric of Aerosmith.

      4)scumbag! You mean, the cheater is a scumbag, not the husband?

      Thank you, girlgeum. I’m going to finish making the first draft by April 16. I’ll ask for your help again. 😉

  2. April 6, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    The president’s wife of a company they usually address as Mrs. plus the surname.

    I think Poison sings a song call, “Every Rose Has It Thorns.”

    The cheater is a scumbag and also the person who cheats with him if she knows that he’s married. It takes two to burn a marriage bed.

  3. honeypotter
    April 10, 2011 at 2:43 am

    Hello, girlgeum! How are you? I have one thing to apologize to you about Thursday. 😦 I’ll mail you.

    A scumbag. I just want to know how I could say a cheated husband in English, not cheaters themselves. 🙂

    How’s your weekend, by the way?

  4. April 11, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    An adulterer is what you can call a cheating husband.

    Went to a dance show over the weekend; it was fun. 🙂

    • honeypotter
      April 11, 2011 at 2:39 pm

      Hello, girlgeum 😉

      No, no, girlgeum, I was talking about a husband who is two-timed, cheated by the wife, not the one who is cheating. He is a sort of a victim of adultery, isn’t he?

      Went to a dance show? Were you also dancing there? Hmmm, I feel like dancing;)

  5. April 12, 2011 at 11:37 am

    Yes he is the victim if his wife cheats on him.

    No, watch the others dance. I was impressed. 🙂

    • honeypotter
      April 15, 2011 at 3:11 am

      Hello, girlgeum 🙂

      >Yes he is the victim…

      So, is there no expressions indicating him except a victim? It would be thankful if I had a adequate adjective for him.

      Oh, just watch? Come on, let’s dance 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

