Home > Japanese Culture > Volcano ashes hush me

Volcano ashes hush me

I am leaving Kagoshima tomorrow night.  I have several things that I have not experienced in Aichi before.  Volcanic ashes from Sakurajima is one of the most unforgettable things while staying Kagoshima.

I have to walk around a town in Kagoshima in the daytime.   I saw something grey like sand stirring up on the street.  They are volcanic ashes from Sakurajima.  Sakurajima is an active volcano in Kagoshima and you can see TV in Kagoshima broadcasting ash forecasts, which predict where the ashes are flown by winds.  You have to make sure the forecast because your eyes become sore, and you have to dust your clothes off when you are home without it.

I didn’t care of such ashes at first, but changed my mind when I saw a shop clerk splashing water in the road.  The color of the water had turned into grey.  Besides, all of my belongings with me outside in the daytime became rough on their surface because of the ashes.  Living in Kagoshima seems tough for me.  

You can see a public place called ‘hai okiba’, which you can litter the ashes that you gathered.  By the way, ‘shima’ of Sakurajima means ‘island’, however, the eruption in 1914 connected Sakurajima to the mainland.  It used to be an island.

Categories: Japanese Culture
  1. May 17, 2011 at 11:03 am

    Hi H.P. 🙂

    Or should I say hi Mr. Busy? 🙂

    That sounds unhealthy.

    Other than the ash, how are you?

    • honeypotter
      May 24, 2011 at 1:18 am

      Helloooo, girlgeum! How are you? 🙂

      I’ve been so busy that I didn’t manage to go to Tokyo for a RAKUGO lesson and I have no time to have my hair cut. Now that I look like a person living in 70’s. lol

      I’ll post an article regarding Kagoshima before long. Please don’t miss it. 😉

  2. May 26, 2011 at 11:07 am

    Looking like a hippie?

    Hope all is well. 🙂

    Do what’s important first and then put up the article.

    • honeypotter
      May 28, 2011 at 1:02 am

      Hello, girlgeum! 🙂

      I’ve finally had my hair cut. My friends said I look…pretty lol

      Thank you, girlgeum, for your worry. I’ve just posted a new article.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

