Home > My diaries > Funny photos in Kagoshima

Funny photos in Kagoshima

I took several photos in Kagoshima during my work. This time, let me show you some of them.

A person of few words
null

I just googled the correct name. They are signs in which you can set your face. You can see them at sightseeing areas in Japan. It seems that they don’t have their proper name. Some people call them kao dashi kanban(kao means a face and kanban means a sign) or kao hame kanban. I often ask someone to photo me standing back of the signs and looking out of the hole of them.

A man next to the woman whose face has gone is Takamori Saigou. He was a master of a clan ‘Choushu Han‘ in the Edo era. He is a noted person in Kagoshima.

I just didn’t think the male character in the sign was Takamori Saigou when I saw it at first. The face in the sign just reminded me of Ken Takakura rather than Takamori Saigou, who is a famous actor in Japan. Ken Takakura is a person of few words, like me(sorry, I just lied).

This is Takamori Saigou.
null

This is Ken Takakura.
null

He acted in the movie ‘Black Rain’ with Michael Douglas in 1989 and in the movie ‘Mr.Baseball’ with Tom Selleck in 1992.

The message on the poster just bugged me
A poster at a drug store just attracted me. Can you see the five hiragana letters emphasized by red circles?
null

They are called midori mushi(literally, a green bug) in Japanese. I totally didn’t know what the midori mushi was, so I just imagined a literal green worm.
null

My friend said that midori mushi is a name of products and it is one of supplements. Here, it is.
null

They are white bears even though chocolates are topped
Kagoshima is famous for pigs, which are called kurobuta(black pigs, berkshires) in Japanese. We luckily had an opportunity to eat black pig. So delicious.

At the following day, I had another famous cuisine. It was a dessert called shirokuma(a white bear), which is a big shaved ice. Let me say that again. It was so big. Take a look at the photo. Can you see a pack of cigarettes next to the shirokuma?
null

I just regreted ordering the fair-sized shirokuma, not the smaller one. Now that you can enjoy a variety of shirokumas, such as ‘chocolate shirokuma‘. Please check them on the website. My friend just complained about the name and said, ‘I would name shirokuma with chocolates “grizzly” or something if I were the owner. “brown bear” or “asian black bear” would be fine. But it’s difficult to name shirokuma with strawberry syrup because there’s no such a bear in the real world.”

Categories: My diaries
  1. May 31, 2011 at 11:19 am

    Let your imagination run and name it anything. 🙂

    You see signs and sometimes they’re not what you might expect.

    Saw Black Rain many years ago.

    Glad to see that you had time for yourself doing this trip.

    • honeypotter
      July 8, 2011 at 4:58 am

      Hello, girlgeum

      It’s been a long time since you left your comment. And thank you for your message on Skype. I’m back. I hope you still drop by this blog.

      I’ll go to Kagoshima soon. Our new business is going well so far 🙂

  2. August 11, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    Happy new business is going well. 🙂

    • honeypotter
      August 13, 2011 at 2:55 am

      Thanks, girlgeum 🙂 Now, I have a bounch of things to do regarding the new business. They are a bit bothering me. I’m totally excited, though. 🙂

  3. August 16, 2011 at 6:28 pm

    Everything new I guess has its challenges, but yeah, excitement also comes along too.

    • honeypotter
      August 21, 2011 at 4:43 am

      The kick-off day is coming. I also have to prepare for a recital of RAKUGO. Yes, my life is wonderful 🙂

      • August 27, 2011 at 10:37 pm

        I had forgotten about the RAKUGO. How this one you created?

  4. honeypotter
    August 31, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    girlgeum. Yeaaah, I forgot two things about RAKUGO. One is to write an article about the recital last March. The other is to write an article about the one held in Sep.

    I’ve recently been so busy that I didn’t have enough to time to prepare the script and the practice for the new play. I’ll do my best, though.

  5. August 31, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    Improvise.

    All the best. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

