Home > My ideas > Something ‘outstanding universal value’ that you must hand down to the next generation

Something ‘outstanding universal value’ that you must hand down to the next generation

I’m going to take an interview test next Sunday in Tokyo. I have to talk about world heritage sites at the interview. This time on this blog, let me write an article about UNESCO, world heritage sites, and the grand meeting at which the international treaty, commonly known as the World Heritage Convention, was ratified.

Something happened around the Nile Valley about fifty years ago. The construction of Aswan High Dam led to the threat for numerous ancient Nubian treasures. The passions to protect invaluable treasures and artefacts there transcended national interestes and pride. The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization(UNESCO) kicked off the first international campaign, which was to safeguard such treasures and artefacts in grave danger. That was the first activity to initiate the world heritage convention.

In 1972, UNESCO called sites which should be preserved Cultural, Natural, and Mixed Heritage sites. The member states of UNESCO ratified the international treaty generally known as the World Heritage Convention. 148 countries are registered as members to date. We have 936 registered heritage sites on the earth as of June, 2011. In Japan, 16 sites are registered as the sites so far.

The World Heritage Committee, the subsidiary organization to UNESCO, is the one who certifies world heritage sites. Member states which ratified the convention hand in a recommendation to register sites in their countries as the world heritage sites. The states can submit the application once in a year. The World Heritage Committee deliberate over the claim if it is adequate or not.

As I wrote, over 900 world heritage sites are all over the world. Itsukushima Shinto Shrine in Japan, Machu Picchu in Peru, Mont-Saint-Michel and its Bay in France, etc. are where I would like to visit someday.

Nothing is more terrible than ignorance. Koichiro Matsuura, a Japanese, was the former Director-General of UNESCO, who was the very person to trigger the USA’s back to UNESCO. He reformed UNESCO from within.

Categories: My ideas
  1. Kikka
    December 8, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    Do you have to remember all of the information about world heritage? Over 900? I was about to faint when I saw the figure, 900.=(8-0) For me, it’s impossible even in my own language, let alone a foreign language to do that tough things! You have no problems with that. Good luck with your exam!;)

  2. honeypotter
    December 8, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    Hi, Kikka. I believe this is the very first time that you have left your comment here. Thank you so much and welcome to my humble abode 😉

    I don’t need to learn all the heritages. I mean, I’m not capable of doing it. lol I think I’ve got to be able to discuss necessary but minimal topics about heritages and UNESCO.

    I’m going to have a RAKUGO lesson before the exam. Actually, I haven’t prepared enough for the lesson. Yesterday, I finished the draft of the new play. lol

    Anyway, I’ll do my best. 😉

  3. December 15, 2011 at 10:04 am

    History/Historical places are very important. Sometimes it’s hard to decide which ones should be label a heritage site.

    You’re an informed person H.P.

    Earthquake. Interesting that you were in your car and didn’t feel a thing. You’re okay though?

    • honeypotter
      December 16, 2011 at 6:59 am

      >Sometimes it’s hard to decide which ones should be label a heritage site.

      That’s right. Once the site becomes identified as a world heritage site, the number of tourists is likely to increase very much. You can see such an example from the site in Japan, Shirakawa-go Gokayama, Historic Villages of Japan. After the registration, many people visit the villages every year.

      Fortunately, nothing happened to us in our city at the moment of the earthquake. Thanks for your worry, girlgeum. I’m okay 😉

  4. December 16, 2011 at 9:04 am

    🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

